Spirits Abroad

Spirits Abroad : Stories

4.23 (1,013 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 9-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Winner of the LA Times/Ray Bradbury Prize


Nineteen sparkling stories that weave between the lands of the living and the lands of the dead. Spirits Abroad is an expanded edition of Zen Cho's Crawford Award winning debut collection with nine added stories including Hugo Award winner "If at First You Don't Succeed, Try, Try Again." A Datin recalls her romance with an orang bunian. A teenage pontianak struggles to balance homework, bossy aunties, first love, and eating people. An earth spirit gets entangled in protracted negotiations with an annoying landlord, and Chang E spins off into outer space, the ultimate metaphor for the Chinese diaspora.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 139 x 215 x 27.94mm | 453.59g
  • Northampton, United States
  • English
  • 1618731866
  • 9781618731869
  • 38,104

Review quote

"An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susannah Clarke, full of delights and surprises. Zen Cho unpins the edges of the canvas and throws them wide." - Naomi Novik, New York Times bestselling author of A Deadly Education



"A warm, funny debut novel by a brilliant new talent." - Charles Stross, award-winning author of the Laundry Files and Merchant Princes series



"Fabulous! If you like Austen or Patrick O'Brian, or magic and humor like Susanna Clarke, or simply a very fun read, you will really, really, enjoy this!" - Ann Leckie, Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke Award winning author of Ancillary Justice



"Zen Cho's SORCERER TO THE CROWN is inventive, dangerous, brilliant, unsettling, and adorable, all at the same time. It shatters as many rules as its characters do. Historical Britain will never be the same again, and I can't wait for the next book." - Courtney Milan, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author



"A deliciously true tale of politics and power in a charming, cruel world - it demands and deserves to be read again and again. Cho has humor and flair to match Pratchett and Heyer plus her own marvelous style." - Karen Lord, award-winning author of The Best of All Possible Worlds



"A delightful and enchanting novel that uses sly wit and assured style to subvert expectations while it always, unfailingly, entertains. I loved it!" - Kate Elliott, author of the Spiritwalker series



"Magic, manners and dragons in Regency England - this alone would be awesome, but Zen Cho adds a veneer of comment on English colonial politics .... Like a mix of Jane Austen, PG Wodehouse, and Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, and all its own thing. Glorious." - Aliette de Bodard, award-winning author of Obsidian and Blood and The House of Shattered Wings



"A sheer delight from beginning to end. Cho perfectly conjures the opulence, absurdity and conflict of the period." - Samantha Shannon, author of The Bone Season



"A delightful follow-up to Sorcerer to the Crown! Cho applies her characteristic wit and charm to a tale of cursed sisters - a story I found as enchanting as her Faerie Court." - S.A. Chakraborty, author of City of Brass



"Cho continues to confront class and gender roles in an alternate Regency England while showcasing entertaining prose and characters. A delightful historical-fantasy novel that will capture readers in its layered story line."-Booklist



"Reading the clever deployment of weaponized manners never gets old; in Cho's charming prose, The True Queen weaves a very pleasant spell indeed." - NPR



"A winning combination of magic and thrill set in an alternative version of Regency England." - Washington Post



"A captivating debut that, aside from examining both gender and racial prejudice, tells an entertaining story with wit and consummate skill." - The Guardian (UK)



"Fans of Susanna Clarke's Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell will flock to this historical fantasy debut for its shared setting and be rewarded with an exciting story and nuanced, diverse characters who make this novel soar on its own merits." - Library Journal (starred review; debut of the month)



"Combines magic and the Regency period in the manner of Susanna Clarke's Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, but adds an Austenian piquancy . . . Cho's debut has much to recommend it, particularly its implicit critique of colonialism and its frothy good humour."- Financial Times



"A classic, gently barbed upper-crust comedy mixed with magical thrills, modern social consciousness, and a hint of political intrigue. A decidedly promising start."- Kirkus Reviews



"Zacharias brings to mind another orphaned young wizard whose combination of grit and melancholy captured readers' hearts, and ingenious, gutsy Prunella simply shines." - Publishers Weekly (starred review)



"Sorcerer to the Crown exceeds expectations. It's a very entertaining and deeply enjoyable novel-and if this is what Cho gives us for her debut, I'm really looking forward to seeing what she does next." - Locus
show more

About Zen Cho

Zen Cho is the author of the Sorcerer to the Crown novels and a novella, The Order of the Pure Moon Reflected in Water, as well as the short story collection Spirits Abroad. She is a Hugo, Crawford and British Fantasy Award winner, and a finalist for the Locus and Astounding Awards. She was born and raised in Malaysia, resides in the UK, and lives in a notional space between the two.
show more

Rating details

1,013 ratings
4.23 out of 5 stars
5 42% (428)
4 42% (421)
3 14% (141)
2 2% (18)
1 0% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X