Spice Road
6%
off

Spice Road : an epic young adult fantasy set in an Arabian-inspired land

3.99 (443 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
3.99 (443 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-10 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Whoever controls the Spice . . . controls the Kingdom itself.

The first book in an epic fantasy series for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Hafsah Faizal and Elizabeth Lim, set in an Arabian-inspired land. Raised to protect her nation from the monsters lurking in the sands, seventeen-year-old Imani must fight to find her brother whose betrayal is now their greatest threat.

In the hidden desert city of Qalia, secret spice magic awakens the affinities of those who drink the misra tea. With her affinity for iron, seventeen-year-old Imani can wield a dagger like no other - and for that she has gained a reputation as the next greatest Shield, battling djinn, ghouls, and the other monsters spreading across the sands.

But ever since her brother was discovered stealing their nation's coveted spice - a tell-tale sign of magical obsession - and disappeared into the deadly Forbidden Wastes, Imani's reputation has been in tatters. Despite Atheer's betrayal, there isn't a day that goes by that she doesn't grieve him.

Then Imani discovers signs her brother may be alive, and spreading their nation's magic to outsiders. Desperate to find him - and to protect him - she joins the mission sent to hunt him down. Accompanied by Taha, a powerful beastseer, who enthrals and enrages her in equal measure, Imani soon discovers that many secrets lie beyond the Forbidden Wastes - and in her own heart.

Caught between her duty to her nation, and her love for her brother, Imani must decide where her loyalties lie . . . before it is too late.

'An epic, sand-swept adventure' Ayana Gray, New York Times bestselling author of Beasts of Prey

'An enchanting world of tea magic and desert monsters and a thrilling quest helmed by a girl whose wit is sharper than her blades' Amelie Wen Zhao, author of Blood Heir
show more

Product details

  • 12-15
  • Hardback | 496 pages
  • 160 x 240 x 46mm | 749g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1399702025
  • 9781399702027
  • 4,215

Review Text

"With an enchanting world of tea magic and desert monsters and a thrilling quest helmed by a girl whose wit is sharper than her blades, Maiya Ibrahim's Spice Road is a fantasy you don't want to miss" -- Amélie Wen Zhao, author of Blood Heir
show more

Review quote

An epic, sand-swept adventure * Ayana Gray, New York Times bestselling author of Beasts of Prey * With an enchanting world of tea magic and desert monsters and a thrilling quest helmed by a girl whose wit is sharper than her blades, Maiya Ibrahim's Spice Road is a fantasy you don't want to miss * Amelie Wen Zhao, author of Blood Heir * Magic-fueled and action packed, Spice Road takes an epic quest and fills it with secrets, scorching betrayals, and a spellbinding magic system. Prepare to sink into the pages and never want to leave * Dana Swift, author of Cast in Firelight * A beautifully written, surprise-filled page-turner * Kirkus, starred review * With vivid world-building and epic action scenes, SPICE ROAD is a gripping fantasy adventure that YA readers are going to love! * Lynette Noni, author of The Prison Healer series * Come, let the mysterious Spice Road sweep you away. Spirited characters, compelling societies, critical subject matter, and a riveting plot all scheme to ensure a soul-stirring journey * London Shah, award-winning author of the Light the Abyss series * A rich, fresh-voiced fantasy, Ibrahim weaves a masterful tale of family and adventure. Readers will devour the pages like a perfectly spiced tea and be left burning for more * Claire M. Andrews, author of the Daughter of Sparta trilogy * Imani's introspective voice, rendered in Ibrahim's lush prose, propels a deliberately plotted adventure populated by magnetic characters. Overflowing with culturally specific details and set in a fictional, Arabian-inspired world, this high-octane adventure maintains a steady clip toward a scintillating conclusion * Publishers Weekly * Spice Road is an intriguing and adventure-filled Arabian-inspired tale that weaves together a fascinating magic system, complex characters and the complicated bonds of family * Culturefly *
show more

About Maiya Ibrahim

Born and raised in sunny Sydney, Australia, Maiya Ibrahim graduated with a Bachelor of Laws but prefers working with the laws of magic systems instead. When she's not writing or reading fantasy and science fiction, she can be found playing RPGs, adding new plants to her garden, or enjoying Middle Eastern sweets with her family. SPICE ROAD is her debut novel.
show more

Rating details

443 ratings
3.99 out of 5 stars
5 35% (156)
4 38% (169)
3 19% (82)
2 6% (28)
1 2% (8)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X