Spelled

Spelled

3.68 (6,580 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 9-14 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Somewhere over the rainbow, all spell is about to break loose in the first installment of this clever and hilarious YA fairy tale retelling trilogy, perfect for fans of Dorothy Must Die and Jen Calonita's Fairy Tale Reform School series
Fairy Tale Survival Rule #32: If you find yourself at the mercy of a wicked witch, sing a romantic ballad and wait for your Prince Charming to save the day.
Yeah, no thanks. Dorothea is completely princed out. Sure, being the crown princess of Emerald has its perks-like Glenda Original ball gowns and Hans Christian Louboutin heels. But a forced marriage to the not-so-charming prince Kato is so not what Dorthea had in mind for her enchanted future.
Talk about unhappily ever after.
Trying to fix her prince problem by wishing on a (cursed) star royally backfires, leaving the kingdom in chaos and her parents stuck in some place called "Kansas." Now it's up to Dorthea and her pixed off prince to find the mysterious Wizard of Oz and undo the curse...before it releases the wickedest witch of all and spells The End for the world of Story.
Fast-paced and delightfully unique, Spelled is perfect for readers looking for:
a new twist on the Wizard of Oz fairy tale retellings and mashupswhimsical fantasy for tweens and teensdynamic and relatable heroines with snarkThe Storymakers Series:
Spelled (Book 1)
Wanted (Book 2)
Banished (Book 3)
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 25.4mm | 362.87g
  • Sourcebooks Fire
  • Naperville, United States
  • English
  • 1492608718
  • 9781492608714
  • 326,984

Review quote

"A cute adventure with romance set in a world full of fairy-tale mash-ups. Readers will love Dorthea's evolution from spoiled princess to strong, confident heroine... For Oz fans, this work is a great clean-read alternative to Danielle Paige's Dorothy Must Die." - School Library Journal "There are, overall, two words to describe "Spelled": Clev. Er.

With a starting point of a basic princess story, Schow moves with lightning speed through just about every fairytale and fantasy story you can remember, taking her main character on an original adventure with an Oz flair and a flirt with classic Grimm...Not too hard and not too soft, this book is just right for 12- to 17-year-old readers, but be sure to borrow it back for yourself. Fee, fi, fo, fum, "Spelled" smells like gigantic fun.


" - Bookworm Sez "Spelled is full of clever plays on words and fun reinterpretations of the original classic. While the story is light and comedic, Schow manages to weave a deeper plot and satisfying character growth into the pages. Spelled is ideal for readers who are looking for something light and entertaining. Fans of The Wizard of Oz will appreciate Schow's attention to detail in bringing characters and places they already know to new life with a clever twist." - Deseret News
show more

About Betsy Schow

Betsy Schow is the author of the memoir Finished Being Fat, and has been featured on The Today Show and in The Wall Street Journal. She lives in Utah, but travels the country with Color Me Rad 5k, and partners with non-profits to teach kids creative thinking and how to reach their goals. Visit her at betsyschow.com
show more

Rating details

6,580 ratings
3.68 out of 5 stars
5 25% (1,653)
4 35% (2,275)
3 27% (1,793)
2 10% (628)
1 4% (231)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X