Special Operations: Dogfight

Special Operations: Dogfight

4.05 (79 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$12.25

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

NORWAY, OCTOBER 1940 Norway, a country invaded by the Nazis. Finn Gunnersen and best friend, Loki Larson, are determined to fight back. Joining the Resistance, they risk arrest, torture and execution. They also don't know who to trust. When vital secrets fall into their hands and the enemy is in hot pursuit, they must escape. But to succeed they face their greatest deadly challenge - how to steal an enemy plane and fly it to freedom. Can two boys take on the might of the Nazi power?show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 128 x 196 x 30mm | 281.23g
  • Random House Children's Publishers UK
  • Corgi Childrens
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • UK ed.
  • 0552556742
  • 9780552556743
  • 296,414

About Craig Simpson

Craig Simpson spent his childhood in southern England. At eighteen he headed off to veterinary school in Bristol but soon realized that in the wrong hands a scalpel could do more harm than good, and switched to studying science. He spent a while juggling test tubes before realizing there had to be more to life. After fifteen years scaling the corporate ladder, and travelling widely he became an independent consultant. A keen amateur historian, inspired by true stories he then abandoned the rat-race to write adventure novels. He now lives between the New Forest and the Hampshire seasideshow more

Review quote

"A fast-paced thriller" -- Amanda Craig * The Times * "A full-throttle adventure" * Sunday Express * "A hugely exciting story!" * The School Librarian * "A twisting tale of conspiracy, action and espionage, and I highly recommend it" * TES * "Craig Simpson weaves fact and fiction together seamlessly to give his readers a thrilling and at the same time a meaningful reading experience. Readers will come to see how dangerous life was for many of the people who were living under German occupation during World War II" * Through the Looking Glass *show more

Back cover copy

JOIN FINN GUNNERSEN IN HIS FIRST SPECIAL OPERATION Eighty miles per hour . . . 'Now, Loki!' I said, seizing the other column in front of me. We both pulled back. The plane lurched like a runaway train about to derail. Then, suddenly, the pounding ceased and everything seemed mighty smooth. My god, I thought, we're flying! A teenage boy and his best friend, obsessed with fighter planes . . . A country invaded by the enemy . . . One daring mission that might just save the day . . . Get ready for take-off and a full throtle action-adventure! HIGH-OCTANE EXCITEMENT, PERFECT FOR FANS OF ANDY MCNAB, ROBERT MUCHAMORE AND CHRIS RYAN UNSUITABLE FOR YOUNGER READERSshow more

Review Text

"A hugely exciting story!"show more

Rating details

79 ratings
4.05 out of 5 stars
5 32% (25)
4 46% (36)
3 19% (15)
2 4% (3)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X