Speak Easy, Speak Love
24%
off

Speak Easy, Speak Love

4.19 (614 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Six teenagers' lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this sparkling retelling of Shakespeare's Much Ado About Nothing.

After she gets kicked out of boarding school, seventeen-year-old Beatrice goes to her uncle's estate on Long Island. But Hey Nonny Nonny is more than just a rundown old mansion. Beatrice's cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement--one that might not survive the summer.

Along with Prince, a poor young man determined to prove his worth; his brother, John, a dark and dangerous agent of the local mob; Benedick, a handsome trust-fund kid trying to become a writer; and Maggie, a beautiful and talented singer; Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy. Despite all their worries, the summer is beautiful, love is in the air, and Beatrice and Benedick are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends might be quietly orchestrating in the background.

Hilariously clever and utterly charming, McKelle George's debut novel is full of intrigue and 1920s charm. For fans of Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Anna Godbersen.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 432 pages
  • 150 x 206 x 38mm | 476g
  • English
  • 0062560921
  • 9780062560926
  • 304,723

Review quote

"Deliciously enjoyable...This is sure to delight fans of Anna Godberson's Bright Young Things and Shakespeare's writings alike, leaving a taste for much more of the Roaring Twenties and much more from George."--Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
show more

Rating details

614 ratings
4.19 out of 5 stars
5 43% (265)
4 37% (227)
3 17% (103)
2 2% (15)
1 1% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X