Spanish Dances for the Classical Guitar

Spanish Dances for the Classical Guitar : Music of Pablo de Sarasate Transcribed for Guitar

By (author)  , Adapted by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?


Eight dances by one of Spain's greatest composers, for the first time on guitar. Pablo de Sarasate's "Spanish Dances," originally written for violin and piano, exemplify both the virtuosic and lyrical qualities of 19th-century Romantic music. They range from the lively "Jota," filled with rapid arpeggios to the melancholy "Playera" with its Flamenco-inspired harmonies. The guitar adds a variety of traditional Spanish and Flamenco techniques not found in the original violin and piano score: strummed rasgueados take the place of blocked chords; scale runs are played with powerful apoyandos (rest-strokes) with fingers or thumb; and ligados punctuate what were bowed passages. This edition, arranged by guitarist William Wilson, contains full as well as abridged versions of each piece. The music is written in standard notation, it does not include tablature. It is appropriate for both intermediate and advanced Classical guitarists. Also included is Sarasate's "Balada," Op. 31. Full Composition Listing: Spanish Dance No. 1: Malaguena, Op. 21, No. 1 Spanish Dance No. 2: Habanera, Op. 21, No. 2 Spanish Dance No. 3: Romanza Andaluza, Op. 22, No. 1 Spanish Dance No. 4: Jota Navarra, Op. 22, No. 2 Spanish Dance No. 5: Playera, Op. 23, No. 1 Spanish Dance No. 6: Zapateado, Op. 23, No. 2 Spanish Dance No. 7: Vito, Op. 26, No. 1 Spanish Dance No. 8: Habanera, Op. 26, No. 2 Balada, Op. 31"show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 102 pages
  • 216 x 280 x 5mm | 259g
  • Createspace
  • United States
  • English
  • Abridged
  • abridged edition
  • black & white illustrations
  • 1508639175
  • 9781508639176
  • 944,672