Southern Fried Fiction

Southern Fried Fiction : How the Insidious Onset of Depression Derailed a Successful Man's Life

4.42 (14 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Stuart Hotchkiss is at the end of his rope. Underemployment, bankruptcy, and a looming third divorce have worn him down. His mother has died. He's estranged from his own son. Death seems like a release.

The son of a once significant Southern family, Hotchkiss spent his early life struggling to escape familial expectations and secrets. He paid for his own education and eventually secured a position as president of a national media conglomerate, only to resign a year later and bring senseless litigation that rendered him permanently underemployed.

Southern Fried Fiction is all that a memoir should be-a captivating story, real and raw, with a healthy dose of humor to carry readers through the pain of its author's loss and past mistakes. Through it, Hotchkiss eloquently exorcises the demons of his climb toward success, capping it off with a spark of hope beyond the veil of his near suicide, one that even the most cynical of us can find inspiration in.

In the vein of Russell Baker's Growing Up and Michael Gates Gill's How Starbucks Saved My Life, Hotchkiss's memoir is a moving account of one man's battle to overcome his demons and start over.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 152 x 229 x 18mm | 449g
  • English
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 1507665806
  • 9781507665800

About Stuart Hotchkiss

Stuart Hotchkiss is a former publishing chief who served as the executive creative director of Time Inc. and the president of Time Home Entertainment Inc. He is also a past president of the Direct Marketing Association of Washington. A native of Richmond, Virginia, Hotchkiss now lives in Boise, Idaho, where he serves as vice president of the Episcopal Diocese of Idaho's executive council.
show more

Rating details

14 ratings
4.42 out of 5 stars
5 57% (8)
4 36% (5)
3 0% (0)
2 7% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X