The Sources of the Synoptic Gospels: Volume 1, St Mark

The Sources of the Synoptic Gospels: Volume 1, St Mark

By (author)  , Edited by 

List price: US$125.00

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Wilfred L. Knox (1886-1950) was a theologian and fellow of Pembroke College, Cambridge. Volume I of his Sources of the Synoptic Gospels was published posthumously in 1953. The gospels were written to preach Christ and not to satisfy the curiosities of the modern scholar; but they do contain important historical material of the first importance. That is Dr Knox's contention: and these volumes seek to take Gospel criticism a stage beyond Form-criticism. The result of many years' work, this volume focuses on the Gospel of St Mark, whilst the 1957 Volume II is concerned with St Luke and St Matthew. Following Knox's death. The manuscripts for both of these volumes were edited by the Rev. Henry Chadwick and published in their present form.
show more

Product details

Review quote

Review of the hardback: 'These comparatively few pages are crammed with compressed erudition, originality and sound sense...the case for the sources is brilliantly argued...' Church Times Review of the hardback: 'It is marked by wide learning and critical acumen...It can be read with interest and profit by any intelligent student.' The Guardian Review of the hardback: 'It contains a great mass of exact and penetrating observations.' The Times Literary Supplement
show more

Table of contents

Editor's preface; Preface; Abbreviations; Introduction; 1. The first group of conflict-stories; 2. The Twelve-source; 3. Jesus and the devils; 4. The book of parables; 5. Books of miracles; 6. Narareth and John the Baptist; 7. Corban and miscellaneous incidents; 8. A book of localized miracles; 9. The 'Central Section'; 10. The entry to Jerusalem; 11. A second group of conflict-stories? 12. The warning against the scribes; 13. The 'Little Apocalypse'; 14. The Passion story: a. The Last Supper; b. Getsemane; c. The trial by the Sanhedrin and Peter's denial; d. The trials before Pilate and Herod; e. The mocking by the soldiers; f. The crucifixion; 15. The Resurrection story; Summary; Indexes.
show more