The Sound of Stars

The Sound of Stars

3.92 (5,455 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Can a girl who risks her life for books and an alien who loves pop music work together to save humanity? A beautiful and thrilling debut novel for fans of Marie Lu and Veronica Roth. Two years ago, a misunderstanding between the leaders of Earth and the invading Ilori resulted in the deaths of one-third of the world's population. Today, seventeen-year-old Ellie Baker survives in an Ilori-controlled center in New York City. With humans deemed dangerously volatile because of their initial reaction to the invasion, emotional expression can be grounds for execution. Music, art and books are illegal, but Ellie still keeps a secret library. When young Ilori commander M0Rr1S finds Ellie's library, he's duty-bound to deliver her for execution. The trouble is, he finds himself drawn to human music and in desperate need of more. Humanity's fate rests in the hands of an alien Ellie should fear, but M0Rr1S has a potential solution--thousands of miles away. The two embark on a wild and dangerous journey with a bag of books and their favorite albums, all the while creating a story and a song of their own that just might save them both.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 432 pages
  • 145 x 213 x 36mm | 431g
  • English
  • Original ed.
  • 1335911553
  • 9781335911551
  • 71,283

Review quote

BookRiot "Most Anticipated Queer Read of 2020" "This book has everything! Aliens set on conquering earth! A determined heroine with a hidden stash of books! And the power of music and stories to give those with every reason to hate the power to love. Who could want anything more?"--Joelle Charbonneau, New York Times bestselling author of The Testing and Verify "Dow is an incredible new voice. The sensory details spill off the pages and transport me to new and unfamiliar places... The Sound of Stars was a true pleasure to read. I can't wait to see what she does next!"--Saundra Mitchell, author of The Prom novelization and editor of All Out and Out Now "The Sound of Stars is a stunning exploration of the comforts that make us human and the horrors that challenge our humanity."--K. Ancrum, author of The Wicker King "This debut has it all: music, books, aliens, adventure, resistance, queerness, and a bold heroine tying it all together."--Ms. Magazine "A marvellous genre-bending debut." --The Nerd Daily "Perfect for teens and fans of War Cross by Marie Lu and The Last 8 by Laura Pohl." --Tor.com "[A]s with the best science fiction, it has the potential to be timeless." --Locus "Dow paints a moving picture of two young people's defiance and the power of song and story to combat despair."--Publishers Weekly "There is much to enjoy in this story featuring a complex black teen: Ellie is bright, resourceful, and coping with issues with body image and anxiety. Morris and his family are intriguing. The depiction of the world has many similarities to today's society, and the overlay of speculative aspects fits seamlessly. A promising debut that begs for a sequel."--Kirkus Reviews "This debut is a hopeful testament to resistance that weaves in commentary about climate change, racism and politics, and includes LGBTQIA and mental and physical health representation. --Lana Barnes, freelance reviewer and proofreader, for Shelf Awareness
show more

Rating details

5,455 ratings
3.92 out of 5 stars
5 34% (1,875)
4 39% (2,104)
3 16% (900)
2 6% (342)
1 4% (234)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X