The Sound of Mountain Water

The Sound of Mountain Water : The Changing American West

4.02 (180 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


The essays, memoirs, letters, and speeches in this volume were written over a period of twenty-five years, a time in which the West witnessed rapid changes to its cultural and natural heritage, and Wallace Stegner emerged as an important conservationist and novelist. This collection is divided into two sections: the first features eloquent sketches of the Westshow more

Product details

  • Paperback | 280 pages
  • 132 x 203 x 20mm | 272g
  • English
  • 0525435433
  • 9780525435433

About Wallace Stegner

Wallace Stegner (1909-1993) was the author of, among other novels, Remembering Laughter, 1937; The Big Rock Candy Mountain, 1943; Joe Hill, 1950; All the Little Live Things, 1967 (Commonwealth Club Gold Medal); A Shooting Star, 1961; Angle of Repose, 1971 (Pulitzer Prize); The Spectator Bird, 1976 (National Book Award, 1977); Recapitulation, 1979; and Crossing to Safety, 1987. His nonfiction includes Beyond the Hundredth Meridian, 1954; Wolf Willow, 1963; The Sound of Mountain Water (essays), 1969; The Uneasy Chair: A Biography of Bernard DeVoto, 1974; and Where the Bluebird Sings to the Lemonade Springs: Living and Writing in the West (1992). Three of his short stories have won O. Henry Prizes, and in 1980 he received the Robert Kirsch Award from the Los Angeles Times for his lifetime literary achievements. His Collected Stories was published in more

Review quote

"Stegner catches the paradoxical essence of American civilzation." --Choice "Like Faulkner, Stegner sired a stable of writers fired with an ambition to chronicle the region and force upon the nation a new and 'demythologized" view of the West." --The Weekly Standard "Stegner pleads for a Western literature that will meaningfully link past and present. Easygoing essays by a writer of venerable and popular reputation." --Kirkus Reviewsshow more

Table of contents

Introduction Part I 1  Overture: The Sound of Mountain Water 2  The Rediscovery of America: 1946 3  Packhorse Paradise 4  Navajo Rodeo 5  San Juan and Glen Canyon 6  Glen Canyon Submersus 7  The Land of Enchantment 8  Coda:  Wilderness Letter Part II 1  At Home in the Fields of the Lord 2  Born a Square 3  History, Myth,a nd the Western Writer 4  On the Writing of History 5  Three Samples:     a The West Synthetic:  Bret Harte     b The West Authentic:  Willa Cather     c The West Emphatic:  Bernard DeVoto 6  The Book and the Great Communityshow more

Rating details

180 ratings
4.02 out of 5 stars
5 34% (62)
4 39% (71)
3 22% (39)
2 3% (6)
1 1% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X