Sorrowline

Sorrowline

3.88 (134 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$15.75

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Twelve-year-old Jack Morrow is used to life being complicated. His mother died five years ago, and his father is now headed for prison. But then Jack discovers he's a Yard Boy - someone with the ability to travel through Sorrowlines, the channels that connect every gravestone with the date of the person's death - and he is quickly pulled into an adventure beyond anything he could have possibly imagined.

Finding himself in 1940s war-torn London, with his then-teenage grandfather, Davey, Jack soon realises that his arrival in the past has not gone unnoticed. The evil forces of a secret world are determined to find him - and to find out all he knows.

As Jack struggles to survive, he comes ever closer to unlocking the dark secret at the heart of his family, and to - just maybe - changing his own destiny . . .
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 22mm | 293g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1849395233
  • 9781849395236
  • 519,324

Review Text

"Thoroughly engaging time travel adventure with an appealing hero and a suitably mysterious baddie."
show more

Review quote

"Fans of Doctor Who and Percy Jackson are in for a huge treat, they won't be able to put this book down until they've reached the very end" * Aquila * "Thoroughly engaging time travel adventure with an appealing hero and a suitably mysterious baddie." * Peters, Book of the Week * "Debut of the Month" * Julia Eccleshare, Lovereading * "The narrative moves along briskly carrying the reader with it . . . Will attract young readers of 11+" * Books for Keeps * "A high octane journey that is full of adventure and will keep you on your toes until the very last page. A must read." * Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books *
show more

About Niel Bushnell

Niel Bushnell began his career working in comics before moving into animation on the feature films Space Jam & Lost in Space, and as an animator & illustrator for several computer games, including Harry Potter and the Philosophers' Stone. In 2002 Niel established Qurios, an animation & VFX studio which has contributed to many UK TV shows, including Spooks and Hyperdrive. He was recently commissioned by BBC Radio 4 to develop his sit-com, Ragnor Rock. Sorrowline is his first novel.
show more

Rating details

134 ratings
3.88 out of 5 stars
5 35% (47)
4 35% (47)
3 19% (26)
2 4% (6)
1 6% (8)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X