The Sooterkin

The Sooterkin

2.96 (151 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$13.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


The action in Tom Gilling's wickedly funny, magical novel, The Sooterkin, revolves around the bizarre birth of a child who appears to be more seal than human. As the extraordinary news spreads through the penal colony of Van Diemen's Land (present-day Tasmania) during the winter of 1821, mystified residents flock to investigate. The local reverend hypothesizes a virgin birth, but the town's resident science "expert" suspects that the pup may be akin to the mysterious sooterkin-a monstrous, mythical creature born to women in Holland. In spite of its unusual physiology, the child's mother and brother accept the family's newest member and protect it from the clutches of outsiders, who want to exploit the sooterkin baby for profit. In the tradition of The Secret of Roan Inish, The Sooterkin is the perfect summertime fairy tale.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 224 pages
  • 127 x 195.58 x 15.24mm | 181.44g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Reissue
  • 0141002018
  • 9780141002019

Rating details

151 ratings
2.96 out of 5 stars
5 7% (11)
4 23% (34)
3 36% (55)
2 26% (40)
1 7% (11)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X