Songs of Triumphant Love

Songs of Triumphant Love

3.3 (26 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$26.57

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

SECRETS While the celebrated opera singer Terri Ivory is in hospital, facing what could be the end of her career, her daughter Julie stumbles upon a long buried secret that forces her to question her past and her place in her mother's affection. LOVE SONGS In their cracked and empty house that no longer seems like a home, mother and daughter try to keep their closeness to each other and to the men they love: damaged Teo, whose passion for Terri borders on the self destructive, and Julie's first love Alistair who fails to predict the consequences of his decision to join the army. FINDING YOUR VOICE When calamity strikes, all four must make vital choices to find their way forward. Can love and music heal when medicine cannot? And are there some secrets that should never be shared?
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 464 pages
  • 162 x 242 x 39mm | 750g
  • Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0340933593
  • 9780340933596

Review quote

'Jessica Duchen writes about families, the arts and their sometimes devastating combination with such skill and passion that her books are unputdownable. It is very rarely that I find a new writer whose work I love so much.' -- Katie Fforde 'This is a very well written study of the problem of being and having a child prodigy ... it's a gripping read and it's very easy to get caught up in the excitement of wanting Alicia to succeed ... I enjoyed this book a lot' -- Muso on Alicia's Gift 'Jessica Duchen's debut novel is captivating, imaginative and fascinating ... The pace builds powerfully to a dramatic and ultimately very moving conclusion. Completely gripping!' -- Tasmin Little on Rites of Spring 'Jessica Duchen has crafted a riveting drama set within the arts world ... For fans of Joanna Trollope and Russian composers alike.' -- Classic FM Magazine on Rites of Spring
show more

About Jessica Duchen

Jessica Duchen was born in London and grew up with music and writing as twin passions. Hungarian Dances is her third novel. She is also the author of two biographies and several stage works combining music and drama, and as a journalist for the Independent she has interviewed most of today's greatest musicians. She lives in London with her violinist husband.
show more

Rating details

26 ratings
3.3 out of 5 stars
5 12% (3)
4 35% (9)
3 38% (10)
2 4% (1)
1 12% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X