A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

4.22 (2,284 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Read by  , Read by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

An instant New York Times bestseller!

The first in a gripping fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore in which a grieving crown princess and a desperate refugee find themselves on a collision course to murder each other despite their growing attraction--from debut author Roseanne A. Brown. This New York Times bestseller is perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Renée Ahdieh, and Sabaa Tahir.

For Malik, the Solstasia festival is a chance to escape his war-stricken home and start a new life with his sisters in the prosperous desert city of Ziran. But when a vengeful spirit abducts his younger sister, Nadia, as payment to enter the city, Malik strikes a fatal deal--kill Karina, Crown Princess of Ziran, for Nadia's freedom.

But Karina has deadly aspirations of her own. Her mother, the Sultana, has been assassinated; her court threatens mutiny; and Solstasia looms like a knife over her neck. Grief-stricken, Karina decides to resurrect her mother through ancient magic . . . requiring the beating heart of a king. And she knows just how to obtain one: by offering her hand in marriage to the victor of the Solstasia competition.

When Malik rigs his way into the contest, they are set on a heart-pounding course to destroy each other. But as attraction flares between them and ancient evils stir, will they be able to see their tasks to the death?

Magic creates a centuries-long divide between peoples in this stunning debut novel inspired by North African and West African folklore. An action-packed tale of injustice, magic, and romance, this novel immerses readers in a thrilling world and narrative reminiscent of Children of Blood and Bone. (Publishers Weekly, An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List)
show more

Product details

  • CD-Audio
  • 142 x 147 x 25mm | 249g
  • English
  • Unabridged
  • Unabridged
  • 109416061X
  • 9781094160610

Review quote

"A dazzling debut, sparkling with delicious magic, romance, and intrigue. Brown weaves a story that will sink its teeth into you and won't let go, even after the last page."

-- "Swati Teerdhala, author of The Tiger at Midnight"
show more

Rating details

2,284 ratings
4.22 out of 5 stars
5 45% (1,019)
4 39% (892)
3 12% (282)
2 3% (61)
1 1% (30)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X