Song of Treason

Song of Treason

3.56 (66 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

May 1, 1969. Blackmailed into serving Moscow, double agent Paul Dark now finds himself a target for both exposure, and assassination. Desperate to escape his predicament, Dark gambles everything on one last throw of the dice, exposing his Soviet handler to the British. But before long, he finds he has no choice but to go on the run again, and the race is on to stop a deadly conspiracy that dates back to the early years of the Cold War.

The second part of the Paul Dark trilogy, Song of Treasonis another sweat-soaked Sixties-set spy thriller in the tradition of Len Deighton and Frederick Forsyth.

Previously published in hardback and trade paperback under the title Free Country.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 130 x 198 x 24mm | 254g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1847394523
  • 9781847394521
  • 606,706

Looking for beautiful books?

Visit our Beautiful Books page and find lovely books for kids, photography lovers and more. Shop now .

Review quote

'With its subtly deployed late-60s detail, Free Country is a treat for fans of traditional Len Deighton-style spy thrillers.' Guardian 21/08 Jeremy Dun's Free Country is a blast from the past in an altogether different vein: a taut and tortured exploration of betrayal on the national, ideological and personal levels simultaneously. The aptly named Paul Dark -- already revealed as a Soviet double agent within MI6 in Free Agent, the first of this evolving trilogy -- now finds himself promoted to deputy chief of the service but at the same time a target for both his past and present masters. Almost murdered by a sniper at the memorial service for the previous chief -- whom nobody realises that he himself gunned down -- he is sent to Italy to hunt a Moscow-backed movement planning Europe-wide terror attacks. But are they really? Dark rapidly realises that he is under suspicion from all sides, while the people who he is supposed to be hunting may not be what he is told they are. Captured, beaten and threatened with death by his staff, he discovers a conspiracy that has roots in his own past and threatens the future of Europe. A cleverly twisted tale of intrigue and deception, this is a masterly excursion back to the bad old days of the Cold War. Or were they the good old days? The Times 'An homage to the morally ambiguous Sixties thrillers of Le Carre and Deighton... nuanced to the hilt' Telegraph 'A taut and tortured exploration of betrayal...A cleverly twisted tale of intrigue and deception, this is a masterly excursion back to the bad old days of the Cold War. ' Peter Millar, The Times 01/9
show more

About Jeremy Duns

Jeremy Duns is British, but currently lives and works in Stockholm.
show more

Rating details

66 ratings
3.56 out of 5 stars
5 14% (9)
4 42% (28)
3 33% (22)
2 8% (5)
1 3% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X