Sonata for Viola and Piano

Sonata for Viola and Piano : Score and part

  • Paperback
By (composer) 

List price: US$34.75

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


This virtuosic sonata, first published in 1934, exploits the viola's technical capabilities to create an expressive and dramatic work in the late Romantic/early twentieth-century idiom. The sonata comprises four movements: the first is flowing yet intense, the second dark and mournful, the third alternates between lively tunes and passages of dazzling virtuosity, and the final movement is measured and more

Product details

  • Paperback | 88 pages
  • 217 x 297 x 6mm | 281g
  • Oxford University Press
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • 0193414627
  • 9780193414624

About Arthur Bliss

Sir Arthur Bliss studied music at Cambridge under Charles Wood and at the Royal College of Music in the company of other brilliant students including Herbert Howells, Ivor Gurney, and Eugene Goosens. His musical studies were interrupted by the outbreak of the First World War in which he gave distinguished service. After the war Bliss established himself as a composer on the London scene before moving to the USA in the early 1920s. He returned to London in 1925. In 1941 he became director of music at the BBC, where he established programmes such as 'This Week's Composer, still enjoyed today in a similar form. Following his knighthood in 1950 he was appointed Master of the Queen's Musick. In this capacity he composed numerous works and fanfares for royal occasions including the Investiture of the Prince of Wales (1969). He continued composing up until his death at the age of more