The Son-in-Law
11%
off

The Son-in-Law

4.11 (1,482 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

On a sharp winter's morning, a man turns his back on prison. Joseph Scott has served his term. He's lost almost everything: his career as a teacher, his wife, the future he'd envisaged. All he has left are his three children but he is not allowed anywhere near them.

This is the story of Joseph, who killed his wife, Zoe. Of their three children who witnessed the event. Of Zoe's parents, Hannah and Frederick, who are bringing up the children and can't forgive or understand Joseph.

They slowly adjust to life without Zoe, until the day Joseph is released from prison...
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 131 x 197 x 30mm | 370g
  • St Leonards, Australia
  • English
  • Main
  • 1743316690
  • 9781743316696
  • 133,369

Review Text

Engrossing. Woman and Home
show more

Review quote

Easy to read, hard to put down, it'll move you to tears. * Easy Living on Freeing Grace * Will appeal to devotees of Joanna Trollope and Jodi Picoult... [Norman] is hot on their heels. * Daily Mail on Freeing Grace * Jodi Picoult had better look over her shoulder - she's got a new contender by the name of Charity Norman. * Sydney Morning Herald on After the Fall * Original, wonderfully written and utterly gripping, this is a corker of a tale. * The Sun on After the Fall * A gripping tale that would appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Joanna Trollope... A page turning book to while away a winter's evening. * Red Online on After the Fall * The author's third novel, this is another wonderful and very thought-provoking story that I consumed in a single day. * The Sun * Engrossing. * Woman and Home *
show more

About Charity Norman

Charity Norman was born in Uganda and brought up in successive draughty vicarages in Yorkshire and Birmingham. After several years' travel she became a barrister, specialising in crime and family law. In 2002, realising that her three children had barely met her, she took a break from the law and moved with her family to New Zealand. Her debut novel Freeing Grace was published in 2011 and After the Fall was published in 2013 and was selected for the Richard & Judy Book Club. Find Charity on Facebook at facebook.com/charitynormanauthor and on Twitter as @charitynorman1
show more

Rating details

1,482 ratings
4.11 out of 5 stars
5 39% (582)
4 40% (589)
3 16% (230)
2 4% (55)
1 2% (26)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X