Someone Else's Garden
25%
off

Someone Else's Garden : A Novel

3.64 (365 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In the vein of Thrity Umrigar's The Space Between Us, Dipika Rai's soulful debut novel is a moving multi-generational tale of mothers and daughters in rural India struggling to break free of the social traditions fencing them in. Standing out among works by Shobhan Bantwal, Chitra Divakaruni, and other emerging Indian writers, Rai's Someone Else's Garden offers a rare look at life in the Indian countryside, far from the more well-trafficked literary settings of New Delhi and Mumbai, in an evocative, atmospheric story of one woman's soulful fight to take control of her life.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 381 pages
  • 134.62 x 200.66 x 33.02mm | 272.15g
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Original
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0062000357
  • 9780062000354
  • 515,554

Back cover copy

The eldest of seven children, born low-caste and female in rural India, Mamta is abused and rejected by a father whocan see no reason to "water someone else's garden" until ahusband is found for her. Seeking escape in matrimony, Mamta beginsher wedded life with hope--but is soon forced to flee her village and thehorrors of her arranged marriage to the bustle of a small city. Saved from becomingone of the nameless and faceless millions of rejected humanity by thesalvation of sublime love, Mamta struggles to find a precarious state ofacceptance and make peace with her past.

Powerfully affecting and uplifting, set against a vivid and colorful backgroundof Eastern life, Dipika Rai's Someone Else's Garden transcends geographicaldivides and cultural chasms to brilliantly expose the commonalityof the human condition, compelling us to seek answerswithin ourselves to humanity's eternalquestions: Is life random?Do we have a destiny?
show more

Review quote

Dipika Rai turns rural India into a setting for an epic tale of love and loss that feels timeless and familiar. --Jamal Mahjoub, author of "The Drift Latitudes" and "Travelling with Djinns""
show more

Rating details

365 ratings
3.64 out of 5 stars
5 19% (68)
4 40% (147)
3 29% (107)
2 10% (38)
1 1% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X