Soldier Girls: The Battles of Three Women at Home and at War
30%
off

Soldier Girls: The Battles of Three Women at Home and at War

3.81 (1,598 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"A raw, intimate look at the impact of combat and the healing power of friendship" (People): the lives of three women deployed to Afghanistan and Iraq, and the effect of their military service on their personal lives and families--named a best book of the year by Publishers Weekly. "In the tradition of Adrian Nicole LeBlanc, Richard Rhodes, and other masters of literary journalism, Soldier Girls is utterly absorbing, gorgeously written, and unforgettable" (The Boston Globe). Helen Thorpe follows the lives of three women over twelve years on their paths to the military, overseas to combat, and back home...and then overseas again for two of them. These women, who are quite different in every way, become friends, and we watch their interaction and also what happens when they are separated. We see their families, their lovers, their spouses, their children. We see them work extremely hard, deal with the attentions of men on base and in war zones, and struggle to stay connected to their families back home. We see some of them drink too much, have affairs, and react to the deaths of fellow soldiers. And we see what happens to one of them when the truck she is driving hits an explosive in the road, blowing it up. She survives, but her life may never be the same again. Deeply reported, beautifully written, and powerfully moving, Soldier Girls is "a breakthrough work...What Thorpe accomplishes in Soldier Girls is something far greater than describing the experience of women in the military. The book is a solid chunk of American history...Thorpe triumphs" (The New York Times Book Review).show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 409 pages
  • 138 x 208 x 28mm | 379.99g
  • SIMON & SCHUSTER
  • Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 1451668112
  • 9781451668117
  • 587,569

Review quote

"A vivid and intensely personal account of the lives of three women whose only common denominator had been that they joined the Indiana National Guard never imagining they might end up in a war zone... Thorpe's matter-of-fact tone and clear and concise prose make the book all the more riveting... a captivating read, an important book and a stunning accomplishment."--Lorraine Dusky, Military History magazineshow more

Rating details

1,598 ratings
3.81 out of 5 stars
5 25% (402)
4 42% (672)
3 24% (381)
2 7% (111)
1 2% (32)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X