Soldier Dog
20%
off

Soldier Dog

4.09 (726 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Soldier Dog by Sam Angus is an emotional, action-packed, moving book set during the First World War, perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo, with a new cover for the 100 year commemorations in 2018.

'He'll always be true, faithful and brave, even to the last beat of his heart.'

It's 1917. In the trenches of France, miles from home in England, Stanley is a boy fighting a man's war. He is a dog handler, whose dog must be so loyal that he will cross no-man's-land alone under heavy fire to return to Stanley's side, carrying a message that could save countless lives. But this journey is fraught with danger, and only the bravest will survive.

As the fighting escalates and Stanley experiences the true horror of war, he comes to realize that the loyalty of his dog is the only thing he can rely on . . .
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 130 x 197 x 18mm | 211g
  • MACMILLAN CHILDREN'S BOOKS
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 152900649X
  • 9781529006490
  • 578,245

Review quote

Full of loyalty, bravery and the bond between one boy and his dog. It's a gem. * WRD About Books * Amidst these harrowing events, the bravery and the trusting relationship built up between a dog and their handler shines through. The novel covers an unusual aspect of WW1 which would be a useful springboard to introduce the topic of trench warfare. * Carousel *
show more

About Sam Angus

Sam Angus's books have been longlisted and shortlisted several times for the CILIP Carnegie Medal. Soldier Dog was longlisted in 2013, Captain in 2015 and The House on Hummingbird Island in 2017. She has also won or been shortlisted for many local and national awards including the North East Book Award, The Sussex Coast Amazing Book Award, the East Lothian Libraries' Lennox Author Award, the James Reckitt Children's Book Award, the Hillingdon Book of the Year, and the Bath and Somerset Centurion Award, amongst others, the Cheshire Book Award.

Sam Angus was born in Italy, and grew up in France, and spent much of her childhood moving from home to home and country to country, but most of her early childhood was spent in Franco's Spain. She went to more than ten different schools and was the naughtiest girl in all of them. She then went on to read English at Trinity College Cambridge, where she secretly kept a dog in her college rooms. After Cambridge she went to Central St Martins to study fashion then taught A Level English Literature for many years, before becoming a full-time writer. She lives between London and Exmoor and has five children, several horses and a handsome, stubborn West Highland terrier.
show more

Rating details

726 ratings
4.09 out of 5 stars
5 43% (314)
4 32% (231)
3 19% (135)
2 4% (29)
1 2% (17)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X