So B. It
21%
off

So B. It

4.09 (27,981 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Now a major motion picture starring Alfre Woodard, Jessica Collins, John Heard, Jacinda Barrett, Cloris Leachman, and Talitha Bateman--in theaters October 2017! From acclaimed author Sarah Weeks comes a touching coming-of-age story about a young girl who goes on a cross-country journey to discover the truth about her parents, which the New York Times called "a remarkable novel." Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead's When You Reach Me and Ali Benjamin's The Thing About Jellyfish. She doesn't know when her birthday is or who her father is. In fact, everything about Heidi and her mentally disabled mother's past is a mystery. When a strange word in her mother's vocabulary begins to haunt her, Heidi sets out on a cross-country journey in search of the secrets of her past. Far away from home, pieces of her puzzling history come together. But it isn't until she learns to accept not knowing that Heidi truly arrives.show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Paperback | 245 pages
  • 129.54 x 190.5 x 17.78mm | 181.44g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0064410471
  • 9780064410472
  • 108,592

Review quote

"Refreshing, offbeat characters. As the riddle of Heidi's life slowly unfolds, readers will be genuinely touched and surprised."--VOYA (starred review) "Readers will pull for and empathize with the likable characters."--School Library Journal "A quick and satisfying tale of love, determination, and the kindness of strangers."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "The heart of the search for home and history is one that readers will find compelling."--Kirkus Reviews "A remarkable novel. [Heidi's] cross-country journey is brave and daring and yields surprising results."--New York Times Book Review A remarkable novel. [Heidi s] cross-country journey is brave and daring and yields surprising results. --New York Times Book Review" Refreshing, offbeat characters. As the riddle of Heidi s life slowly unfolds, readers will be genuinely touched and surprised. --VOYA (starred review)" The heart of the search for home and history is one that readers will find compelling. --Kirkus Reviews" Readers will pull for and empathize with the likable characters. --School Library Journal" A quick and satisfying tale of love, determination, and the kindness of strangers. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books" -A remarkable novel. [Heidi's] cross-country journey is brave and daring and yields surprising results.---New York Times Book Review -Refreshing, offbeat characters. As the riddle of Heidi's life slowly unfolds, readers will be genuinely touched and surprised.---VOYA (starred review) -The heart of the search for home and history is one that readers will find compelling.---Kirkus Reviews -Readers will pull for and empathize with the likable characters.---School Library Journal -A quick and satisfying tale of love, determination, and the kindness of strangers.---Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Weeks has a distinctive voice that's all her own. Her fully dimensional characters are remarkable yet believable [and] the foreshadowing builds to a beautifully satisfying ending. This is lovely writing--real, touching, and pared cleanly down to the essentials."--ALA Booklist (starred review) "The novel has enough suspence to draw in mystery fans, while Weeks portrays Heidi's emotional and physical odyssey with admirable economy and restraint."--Horn Book Magazine (Starred Review)show more

Back cover copy

HEIDI IS ON A QUEST She doesn't know when her birthday is or who her father is. In fact, everything about Heidi and her mentally disabled mother's past is a mystery. When a strange word in her mother's vocabulary begins to haunt her, Heidi sets out on a cross-country journey in search of the secrets of her past. Far away from home, pieces of her puzzling history come together. But it isn't until she learns to accept not knowing that Heidi truly arrives.show more

Rating details

27,981 ratings
4.09 out of 5 stars
5 41% (11,411)
4 35% (9,769)
3 19% (5,314)
2 4% (1,162)
1 1% (325)

Our customer reviews

Heidi is a twelve-year-old girl who is being raised by Bernadette, who is like her guardian. Twelve years ago, Heidi's mom knocked on a stranger's door and said that she had a "bum brain," had nowhere to live, and was holding a baby. Bernadette takes care of Heidi and her mom, who claims that her name is "So B. It." Heidi now wants to learn more about her mom, so she takes a road trip, by herself, to find out more about her mother's mysterious past. She doesn't really know where she is going, so she just goes wherever the path takes her. But even as little as Heidi knows about her mother, she loves her. This book reminded me a lot of WALK TWO MOONS, because the storyline is similar. That a good thing in my opinion, because I love that book! At the beginning of SO B. IT, you are kind of like "okay, get on with it," but then the story gets interesting. This is a simple yet complicated book, which makes it very interesting.show more
by TeensReadToo
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X