Snakes Can't Run

Snakes Can't Run

3.64 (102 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$24.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

An epic of New York Chinatown noir in the vein of George Pelecanos and Richard Price, this is the riveting sequel to the highly acclaimed "This Is a Bust""" It's a hot summer in New York's Chinatown in 1976 and Robert Chow, the Chinese-American detective son of an illegal immigrant, takes on a new breed of ruthless human smugglers-- snakeheads--when two bodies of smuggled Chinese are found dead under the Brooklyn Bridge underpass. But as Robert comes closer to finding some answers, he discovers a dark secret in his own family's past...
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 154 x 217 x 28mm | 372g
  • United States
  • English
  • 0312569882
  • 9780312569884

Review quote

"Like an astronaut planting a flag on the moon, I'm claiming the discovery of Ed Lin and you're all going to have to fight me for him. He's my favorite new writer in years. I can't wait to see what he does next." - SJ Rozan, author of Shanghai Moon"Reminiscent of the urban noir of Charles Willeford...both lively and dead-on. Snakes Can't Run is a book with fangs. It wastes no time coiling you in its plot and devouring the reader with both venomous and memorable characters." - Arthur Nersesian, author of The Fuck Up"Pulsating...reminiscent of Elmore Leonard. As we follow the novel's singular detective, Robert Chow, and delve deeper into the fascinating, labyrinthine subculture of New York's Chinatown in the 1970s, Snakes Can't Run becomes compulsively readable." - Don Lee, author of Wrack and Ruin and Country of Origin"Ed Lin is a new gifted voice in the urban crime and mystery genre, depicting his inner landscape, New York's Chinatown and beyond, with innate affection, shar
show more

Rating details

102 ratings
3.64 out of 5 stars
5 18% (18)
4 42% (43)
3 31% (32)
2 5% (5)
1 4% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X