The Smell of Other People's Houses
22%
off

The Smell of Other People's Houses

4.01 (5,948 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Read by  , Read by  , Read by  , Read by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In Alaska, 1970, being a teenager here isn't like being a teenager anywhere else. This deeply moving and authentic debut is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America's Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.
Ruth has a secret that she can't hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she's always known on her family's fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it's safer to run away than to stay home--until one of them ends up in terrible danger.
Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable book is about people who try to save each other--and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.

Narrator Cast List:
Ruth, Read by Jorjeana Marie
Dora, Read by Erin Tripp
Alyce, Read by Karissa Vacker
Hank, Read by Robbie Daymond
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • CD-Audio
  • 130 x 150 x 30mm | 159g
  • English
  • Unabridged
  • Unabridged
  • 0147523710
  • 9780147523716

Review quote

An exquisitely drawn, deeply heartfelt look at a time and place not often addressed. Hitchcock s measured prose casts a gorgeous, almost otherworldly feel over the text, resulting in a quietly lovely look at the various sides of human nature and growing up in a difficult world. Booklist, Starred
"Using alternating narratives, debut novelist Hitchcock deftly weaves these stories together, setting them against the backdrop of a native Alaska that readers will find intoxicating.. . .will resonate with readers of all ages." Publishers Weekly
An affecting story of fractured love and surprising redemption. Shelf Awareness, Starred
A multifaceted glimpse into [a] rich cast of characters. . . . An excellent debut. SLJ
The Alaskan author depicts places and an era rarely seen in fiction for teens .All benefit from her journalist s eye for detail. Kirkus Reviews
Grounded in emotional honesty. The Horn Book
An honest, gritty, and moving portrait of growing up in Alaska. Only someone who knows and loves this place through and through could tell this story. This book is Alaska. Eowyn Ivey, author of the New York Times bestseller The Snow Child
As only a native of Alaska can, Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock blends narratives of indigenous and non- into a buffet of pain and beauty. Highly recommended. Tim Tingle, author of the series How I Became a Ghost




From the Hardcover edition."
show more

About Bonnie-sue Hitchcock

Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock was born and raised in Alaska. She worked many years fishing commercially with her family and as a reporter for Alaska Public Radio stations around the state. She was also the host and producer of -Independent Native News, - a daily newscast produced in Fairbanks, focusing on Alaska Natives, American Indians, and Canada's First Nations. Her writing is inspired by her family's four generations in Alaska.

From the Hardcover edition.
show more

Rating details

5,948 ratings
4.01 out of 5 stars
5 31% (1,835)
4 45% (2,673)
3 19% (1,154)
2 4% (248)
1 1% (38)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X