Small Persons with Wings

Small Persons with Wings

3.41 (999 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


An irreverent take on fairies for fans of Savvy and Ella Enchanted! Mellie has been trying, unsuccessfully, to live down the day she told her kindergarten class she had a fairy living in her bedroom. Years later, she is still teased. So when her parents inherit her grandfather's inn and their family moves to a new town, Mellie believes she'll leave all that fairy nonsense behind - only to discover that her family members have been fairy guardians for generations and the inn is overrun with small persons with wings (they hate to be called fairies). Before she knows it, the family and fairies are all facing an evil temptress in disguise who wants the fairy magic all for her own. Can Mellie set things right and save the day?
show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Paperback | 302 pages
  • 124.46 x 193.04 x 25.4mm | 181.44g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • Penguin USA
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0142420549
  • 9780142420546
  • 1,247,172

Review quote

"A fairy story that's wistful, humorous, and clever." - "Publishers Weekly", starred review "Fresh and distinctive . . . hysterical dialogue . . . will keep readers glued to this smart, earthy and thoughtful tale." - "Kirkus Reviews", starred review "A great choice for all who favor funny and intelligent fantasies." - "School Library Journal", starred review
show more

About Ellen Booraem

Ellen Booraem, a native of Massachusetts, now lives in Downeast Maine. She is the author of The Unnameables (an ALA Best Book for Young Adults), Small Persons With Wings, and Texting the Underworld. All of Ellen's books have, among other awards, been picked as Best Books of the Year by Kirkus Reviews. In addition to being a writer, Ellen is also a mentor and a writing coach. She lives with a cat, a dog, and an artist in a house they (meaning the humans) built with their own hands.
show more

Rating details

999 ratings
3.41 out of 5 stars
5 18% (180)
4 29% (292)
3 34% (342)
2 13% (132)
1 5% (53)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X