The Slow Waltz Of Turtles
28%
off

The Slow Waltz Of Turtles : A Novel

3.63 (3,868 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In this mega-bestseller from France and the follow-up to The Yellow Eyes of Crocodiles, a woman contends with divorce, family trouble, and even murder in her journey to discover who she really is.
Fortysomething mother of two Josephine Cortes is at a crossroads. She has just moved to a posh new apartment in Paris after the success of the historical novel she ghostwrote for her sister, Iris. Still struggling with her divorce--the result of her husband running off to Kenya to start a crocodile farm with his mistress--she is now entangled too in a messy lie orchestrated by her sister. And just when things seem they can't get any more complicated, people start turning up dead in her neighborhood.
As Josephine struggles to find her voice and her confidence amidst a messy web of relationships and a string of murders, she and those around her must learn to push on with determination, like headstrong little turtles learning to dance slowly in a world that's too violent and moving too fast.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 130 x 197 x 27.94mm | 362.87g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • Penguin USA
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0143128175
  • 9780143128175
  • 324,098

Review quote

Praise for "The Yellow Eyes of Crocodiles"
A satisfying read. "The Washington Post"
Bonjour, book lovers. Get ready for best-selling French author Katherine Pancol s American debut. It s a charmer about fortysomething sisters Iris and Josephine, who have taken very different paths in life but come together when each finds herself in need of a little reinvention. Read it and ouip. "Daily Candy"
Lucky you! You're about to succumb to France's most irresistible writer! At the end of this delicious, tender, funny, heartwarming novel, you'll feel as if Iris and Josephine are part of your family. Tatiana de Rosnay, "New York Times"bestselling author of"Sarah's Key
"
Thought Parisian women are perfect? Think again. A delicious treat about separation, sisterhood, and turning tables. Ines de la Fressange, "New York Times"bestselling author of"Parisian Chic
"
There is a gorgeous and invigorating zip and sparkle to the writing. You read it with a big smile. Elizabeth Buchan, "New York Times"bestselling author of"Revenge of the Middle-Aged Woman"
No wonder Katherine Pancol s books are all bestsellers, reading her feels like coming home. Her characters become like friends and family members, and you long to know how they get on. "The Yellow Eyes of Crocodiles" has all the quirks, tensions, and belly laughs that family, friendship, and sisterhood can entail. It is touching, entertaining, and vibrant. Cecile David-Weill, author of"The Suitors"
This multilayered well-paced tale will delight you with its entertaining cast of characters and madcap adventures from Paris to the wilds of Africa. Katharine Davis, author of"Capturing Paris"
Pancol deftly manages the constellation of characters in a cleareyed, warmly funny tale. "Kirkus"
Pancol s runaway French bestseller is a satisfying Cinderella story. . . . delicious. "Publishers Weekly"
Riveting . . . Delicious morsels involving every family member compel attention in a title that will appeal to fans of Marian Keyes and Olivia Goldsmith. "Booklist""
show more

About Katherine Pancol

About the Author
Katherine Pancol is one of France's best-known contemporary authors, with millions of copies of her books in print in thirty-one languages. She lives in Paris, France.
About the Translator
William Rodarmor, who also translated Katherine Pancol's The Yellow Eyes of Crocodiles in 2013, has translated more than forty books and screenplays and won the Lewis Galantiere Award from the American Translators Association. A retired magazine editor in Berkeley, California, he also edited and translated the anthologies France and French Feast for Whereabouts Press.
show more

Review Text

Praise for The Slow Waltz of Turtles

"Tantalizing . . . Fans of tightly organized suspense will consume each word with bated breath. . . . Combining witty prose and breezy wisdom, Pancol's sensational novel is a shape-shifting mystery that will please fans of whodunits and family dramas." - Publishers Weekly

"A good beach read . . . The Slow Waltz of Turtles might just be the right book for swiftly passing the time with ease." - Portland Book Review

"Pancol seems influenced by the novels of Alexander McCall Smith, and the same mixture of whimsy, exoticism, comedy and moral seriousness is apparent in her work. . . . entertaining." - The Sydney Morning Herald

Praise for The Yellow Eyes of Crocodiles

"A satisfying read." - The Washington Post

"Bonjour, book lovers. Get ready for best-selling French author Katherine Pancol's American debut. It's a charmer about fortysomething sisters Iris and Josephine, who have taken very different paths in life but come together when each finds herself in need of a little reinvention. Read it and ouip." - Daily Candy

"Lucky you! You're about to succumb to France's most irresistible writer! At the end of this delicious, tender, funny, heartwarming novel, you'll feel as if Iris and Joséphine are part of your family." -Tatiana de Rosnay, New York Times bestselling author of Sarah's Key

"Thought Parisian women are perfect? Think again. A delicious treat about separation, sisterhood, and turning tables." -Inès de la Fressange, New York Times bestselling author of Parisian Chic

"There is a gorgeous and invigorating zip and sparkle to the writing. You read it with a big smile." -Elizabeth Buchan, New York Times bestselling author of Revenge of the Middle-Aged Woman

"No wonder Katherine Pancol's books are all bestsellers, reading her feels like coming home. Her characters become like friends and family members, and you long to know how they get on. The Yellow Eyes of Crocodiles has all the quirks, tensions, and belly laughs that family, friendship, and sisterhood can entail. It is touching, entertaining, and vibrant." -Cécile David-Weill, author of The Suitors

"This multilayered well-paced tale will delight you with its entertaining cast of characters and madcap adventures from Paris to the wilds of Africa." -Katharine Davis, author of Capturing Paris

"Pancol deftly manages the constellation of characters in a cleareyed, warmly funny tale." - Kirkus

"Pancol's runaway French bestseller is a satisfying Cinderella story. . . . delicious." - Publishers Weekly

"Riveting . . . Delicious morsels involving every family member compel attention in a title that will appeal to fans of Marian Keyes and Olivia Goldsmith." - Booklist
show more

Rating details

3,868 ratings
3.63 out of 5 stars
5 21% (813)
4 37% (1,421)
3 30% (1,150)
2 9% (358)
1 3% (126)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X