Slated
36%
off

Slated

4.06 (20,056 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

The gripping first book of a rebellious trilogy about truth, power, and impossible choices, perfect for fans of Divergent and Legend. Kyla's memory has been erased, her personality wiped blank, her memories lost forever. She's been slated. The government claims that she was a terrorist and they are giving her a second chance--if she plays by their rules. But scenes from the past haunt her as she tries to adjust to a new life, family, and school, leaving her unsettled. Who is she really? And if only criminals are meant to be slated, why are so many other teens disappearing? As she and her friend Ben seek answers, Kyla is torn between the need to know more and her instinct for self-preservation. "A suspenseful page-turner with a highly sympathetic and strong female protagonist. . . . Will have readers waiting eagerly for a sequel." --Booklist "Excellent. . . . Kyla's erased memory works wonderfully as a storytelling device." --io9show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 346 pages
  • 139.7 x 208.28 x 27.94mm | 226.8g
  • SPEAK
  • New York, New York
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0142425036
  • 9780142425039
  • 52,835

Review quote

Praise for SLATED "Terry's world is remarkably like today's. . . . The romance and politics keep suspense ratcheted up. Intriguing--readers will be on tenterhooks for the next one."--Kirkus Reviews "Terry's debut is a suspenseful page-turner with a highly sympathetic and strong female protagonist. A perverse sense of claustrophobic dread grows throughout the novel. . . . Will have readers waiting eagerly for a sequel."--Booklist "Building on an intriguing concept . . .What truly makes this novel stand out from the dystopian pack, though, is the well-crafted suspense. . . . Readers will anxiously await sequels to come."--BCCB "Debut author Terry's . . . treatment of medically induced amnesia is intriguing."--Publishers Weekly "Even if you're sick of teenage dystopias, this paranoid mind-wiping novel will thrill you. . . . Excellent. . . . Kyla's erased memory works wonderfully as a storytelling device."--io9show more

About Teri Terry

Teri Terry (teriterry.jimdo.com) is Canadian by birth, and has lived in France, Canada, and Australia. She currently divides her time between writing and doing a research MA on the depiction of terrorism in young adult literature since the 9/11 attacks in America. Slated is her debut novel. She lives in Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom.show more

Rating details

20,056 ratings
4.06 out of 5 stars
5 38% (7,617)
4 38% (7,591)
3 18% (3,690)
2 4% (883)
1 1% (275)

Our customer reviews

I liked the premise, I mean the government erasing memories of "terrorists" and having a new slate. Slated's main character Kyla remembers things faster than she should and questions things that she "shouldn't" so I was drawn to her. I also liked her sister Ashley. She was sweet and I liked how she wanted to help Kyla. But something just felt off. And it didn't pick up quickly enough for me, I just wasn't invested in Kyla enough I guess, and nothing that automatically drew me in where I couldn't put it down. Stopped at page 80.show more
by Brandi Kosiner (Brandi Breathes Books)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X