Six Memos for the Next Millennium

Six Memos for the Next Millennium

4.22 (4,364 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Revised by  , Translated by  , Translated by  , Translated by 

List price: US$22.01

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Italo Calvino was due to deliver the Charles Eliot Norton lectures at Harvard in 1985-86, but they were left unfinished at his death. The surviving drafts explore of the concepts of Lightness, Quickness, Multiplicity, Exactitude and Visibility (Constancy was to be the sixth) in serious yet playful essays that reveal Calvino's debt to the comic strip and the folktale. With his customary imagination and grace, he sought to define the virtues of the great literature of the past in order to shape the values of the future. This collection is a brilliant precis of the work of a great writer whose legacy will endure through the millennium he addressed.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 144 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 8mm | 112g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 014118969X
  • 9780141189697
  • 123,086

Review quote

'Calvino will continue to glitter, this strange, lonely prospector in the universe of words, well into the next millennium and after, a master in the empire of the imagination' - Ian Thomson, Independent on Sunday 'A brilliant, original approach to literature, a key to Calvino's own work and a thoroughly delightful and illuminating commentary on some of the world's greatest writing' San Francisco Chronicle 'A rather wonderful little book, full of wit and erudition' Daily Telegraph
show more

About Italo Calvino

Italo Calvino, one of Italy's finest postwar writers, has delighted readers around the world with his deceptively simple, fable-like stories. He was born in Cuba in 1923 and raised in San Remo, Italy; he fought for the Italian Resistance from 1943-45. His major works include Cosmicomics (1968), Invisible Cities (1972), and If on a winter's night a traveler (1979). He died in Siena in 1985.Patrick Creagh won the John Florio Prize in 1972 for his translation of the Selected Poems of Giuseppe Ungaretti, and again in 1990 for Danube by Claudio Magris and Blind Argus by Gesualdo Bufalino.
show more

Rating details

4,364 ratings
4.22 out of 5 stars
5 45% (1,962)
4 36% (1,580)
3 16% (680)
2 3% (118)
1 1% (24)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X