Six Feet Over It
7%
off

Six Feet Over It

3.53 (955 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

This unforgettable new voice in contemporary YA is perfect for fans of John Green, Libba Bray, and Jennifer Niven. -Like nothing you've read before.- --Bustle.com -Darkly funny and deeply moving. An original, memorable voice.- --Jennifer L. Holm, New York Times bestselling author -A wildly funny coming-of-age story about life, love, death, and everything in between.- --Sarah McCarry, author of All Our Pretty Songs -Terrific. Longo had me at 'graveyard' and then dug me in deeper with wit, dark humor, and splendid characters.- --Lisa Brown, New York Times bestselling author No one is more surprised than Leigh when her father buys a graveyard. Less shocking is the fact that he's too lazy to look farther than the dinner table for employees. Working the literal graveyard shift, she becomes great at predicting headstone choice (mostly granite) and taking notes with one hand while offering Kleenex with the other. Sarcastic and smart, Leigh should be able to quit this stupid after-school job. But her world's been turned upside down by the sudden loss of her best friend and the appearance of Dario, the slightly-too-old-for-her gravedigger. Can Leigh move on, if moving on means it's time to get a life? Darkly humorous and heart-wrenchingly beautiful, Jennifer Longo's YA debut about a girl surrounded by death will change the way you look at friendship, love, and life. More Praise for Six Feet Over It A VOYA Perfect Tens 2014 Pick An Indies Introduce New Voices Pick -Equal parts poignant and humorous. . . . Superb.- --Kirkus Reviews, Starred -A vibrant voice. . . . Readers will rejoice.- --The Bulletin, Starred -A unique book for unique teens.- --Booklist -A strong heroine, multicultural cast, and eclectic contemporary setting make Longo's story stand out.- --Publishers Weekly -Stands out for its unusual setting and also the sarcasm and caustic humor of its protagonist.- --The Horn Book Review -Hilarious, clever, and poignant.- --SLJshow more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 352 pages
  • 139.7 x 205.74 x 33.02mm | 476.27g
  • Random House USA Inc
  • Random House USA Children's Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0449818713
  • 9780449818718
  • 788,795

Review quote

Praise for "Six Feet Over It" A vibrant voice. . . [A] perceptive and at times deeply moving view of people in loss. Leigh s raw deal will elicit indignant sympathy, and readers will rejoice at her triumphant reentry into the world. "The Bulletin," Starred Darkly funny and deeply moving. An original, memorable voice. Jennifer L. Holm, "New York Times" bestselling author Terrific. Longo had me at graveyard and then dug me in deeper with wit, dark humor, and a splendid collection of characters. Lisa Brown, "New York Times" bestselling author A bighearted, wildly funny, and deeply poignant coming-of-age story about life, love, death, and everything in between. Sarah McCarry, author of "All Our Pretty Songs" "An impressive debut novel simultaneously hilarious, clever, and poignant." "SLJ""show more

About Jennifer Longo

JENNIFER LONGO holds an M.F.A. in Writing for Theater from Humboldt State University. She credits her lifelong flair for drama to parents who did things like buy the town graveyard and put their kids to work in it-because how hilarious would that be? Turns out, pretty hilarious. Jennifer lives in Seattle, Washington with her husband and daughter and writes about writing at taotejen.com.show more

Rating details

955 ratings
3.53 out of 5 stars
5 20% (191)
4 33% (318)
3 32% (301)
2 11% (101)
1 5% (44)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X