The Sisters of the Winter Wood

The Sisters of the Winter Wood

3.62 (662 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

'LUSCIOUS AND HYPNOTIC . . . A gripping, powerful story of family, sisterhood. I gulped it down! - Madeline Miller, author of Song of Achilles and Circe

'An incredible achievement - A rich literary fairytale' Robert Dinsdale, author of The Toymakers

Every family has a secret . . . and every secret tells a story.

In a remote village surrounded by forests on the border of Moldova and Ukraine, sisters Liba and Laya have been raised on the honeyed scent of their Mami's babka and the low rumble of their Tati's prayers. But when a troupe of mysterious men arrives, Laya falls under their spell - despite their mother's warning to be wary of strangers. And this is not the only danger lurking in the woods.

As dark forces close in on their small village, Liba and Laya discover a family secret passed down through generations. Faced with a magical heritage they never knew existed, the sisters realise the old fairy tales are true . . . and could save them all.

Captivating and boldly imaginative, Rena Rossner's debut invites you to enter a magical world of secrets, family ties and fairy tales weaving through history. Perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale, Uprooted and The Night Circus.


'A graceful, poetic, deeply moving novel . . . a simply gorgeous book in every sense' Louisa Morgan

'The kind of book that Neil Gaiman and Naomi Novik might have cooked up together' Rob Dinsdale

'A luminous debut by an exciting new talent' Ilana C. Myer

'An elegant tapestry of the love between sisters, the value of faith and family, and knowing one's true friends in times of peril' J. Kathleen Cheney

'Full of heart, history and enchantment' Publishers Weekly (starred review)
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Hardback | 464 pages
  • 150 x 227 x 40mm | 609g
  • Orbit
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 035651143X
  • 9780356511436
  • 12,264

Looking for beautiful books?

Visit our Beautiful Books page and find lovely books for kids, photography lovers and more. Shop now .

Review quote

Inspired by historical events in the Ukraine/Moldova borderland of the author's ancestors, this debut novel blends weighty themes - intercultural tensions, family feuds - with Russian and Jewish shapeshifting folklore. The result is a story that's both charming and chilling * SFX * A vivid, fascinating, excellently drawn story of the fragility of peace and the resilience of love that reaches back into history,out into folklore, and forward into the present * Pamela Dean * Rossner's debut weaves a richly detailed story of Jewish identity and sisterhood . . . Ambitious and surprising * KIRKUS * THE SISTERS OF THE WINTER WOOD is a deeply moving story of sisterly love, steeped in the rich tradition of Jewish folklore. Atmospheric and enchanting, it's sure to delight fans of Naomi Novik's Uprooted * Lana Popovic, author of WICKED LIKE WILDFIRE * Fairy tales, folklore, and poetry make an intoxicating brew in The Sisters of the Winter Wood, a luminous debut by an exciting new talent * Ilana C. Myer * An enthralling debut * Lavie Tidhar, World Fantasy Award-winning author * This dark fairy tale about sisterly love and Jewish strength and courage, set against the backdrop of a deep and deadly winter forest, will haunt me for a long time. A powerful, emotional debut * Julie C. Dao, author of FOREST OF A THOUSAND LANTERNS * Rossner weaves an elegant tapestry of the love between sisters, the value of faith and family, and knowing one's true friends in times of peril * J. Kathleen Cheney * [A] fantastical coming-of-age story [for] fans of Naomi Novik's Spinning Silver and Katherine Arden's The Bear and the Nightingale * BOOKLIST * [An] intricately crafted, gorgeously rendered debut . . . Full of heart, history, and enchantment * PUBLISHERS WEEKLY (starred review) * A graceful, poetic, deeply moving novel . . . a simply gorgeous book in every sense -- Louisa Morgan, author of A SECRET HISTORY OF WITCHES Mixes fairy tale, poetry, history, and heart to create an enchanting and mesmerizing tale of sisterly love. I adored this book! -- Sarah Beth Durst, award-winning author of The Queens of Renthia series An incredible achievement - a rich literary fairytale . . . The kind of book that Neil Gaiman and Naomi Novik might have cooked up together, it's far too easy to get lost in the forests between the pages and disappear for days on end -- Robert Dinsdale, author of THE TOYMAKERS With luscious and hypnotic prose, Rena Rossner tells a gripping, powerful story of family, sisterhood, and two young women trying to find their way in the world. I gulped it down! -- Madeline Miller, award-winning author of SONG OF ACHILLES and CIRCE
show more

About Rena Rossner

Rena Rossner lives in Israel, where she works as a literary agent. All eight of her great-grandparents immigrated to America to escape the pogroms from towns like Dubossary and Kupel. It is their story, together with her love of Jewish mythology, that inspired her to write her debut The Sisters of the Winter Wood.
show more

Rating details

662 ratings
3.62 out of 5 stars
5 22% (146)
4 37% (248)
3 26% (170)
2 11% (73)
1 4% (25)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X