The Sisters of Versailles
14%
off

The Sisters of Versailles : A Novel

3.73 (2,014 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

Goodness, but sisters are a thing to fear.

Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best feet, and women, forward. The King's scheming ministers push sweet, naive Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, she and three of her younger sisters, ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne, will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power as each becomes the king's favourite for a time.
In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie's stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood-of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 135 x 210 x 28mm | 372g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1501102966
  • 9781501102967
  • 329,323

Review quote

"Tantalizing descriptions and cliff-hangers will leave the reader rapidly turning the pages in anticipation... A wickedly delightful read." * New York Daily News * "A stunning breadth of period detail, offered in a fresh, contemporary voice." -- Juliet Grey, author of the acclaimed Marie Antoinette trilogy "Sally Christie's The Sisters of Versailles is an intriguing romp through Louis XV's France. Filled with lush backdrops, rich detail, and colorful characters, fans of historical fiction will enjoy this glimpse into the lost golden era of the French monarchy." -- Allison Pataki, author of THE ACCIDENTAL EMPRESS "Such an extraordinary tale makes for compelling reading and, as the lead book in a planned trilogy, will draw in readers who are interested in royal lives before the French Revolution....historical fiction fans, unfamiliar with the history of the Nesle sisters, will be intrigued." * Library Journal *
show more

About Sally Christie

Sally Christie is the author of The Sisters of Versailles and The Rivals of Versailles. She was born in England and grew up around the world, attending eight schools in three different languages. She spent most of her career working in international development and currently lives in Toronto. Visit SallyChristieAuthor.com to find out more about Sally and the Mistresses of Versailles trilogy.
show more

Rating details

2,014 ratings
3.73 out of 5 stars
5 22% (441)
4 41% (827)
3 28% (568)
2 7% (134)
1 2% (44)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X