Sisters Like Us
19%
off

Sisters Like Us

4.04 (5,392 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Other 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The grass is always greener on your sister's side of the fence...Divorce left Harper Szymanski with a name no one can spell, a house she can't afford and a teenage daughter who's pulling away. With her fledgling virtual-assistant business, she's scrambling to maintain her overbearing mother's ridiculous Susie Homemaker standards and still pay the bills, thanks to clients like Lucas, the annoying playboy cop who claims he hangs around for Harper's fresh-baked cookies.Spending half her life in school hasn't prepared Dr. Stacey Bloom for her most daunting challenge--motherhood. She didn't inherit the nurturing gene like Harper and is in deep denial that a baby is coming. Worse, her mother will be horrified to learn that Stacey's husband plans to be a stay-at-home dad...assuming Stacey can first find the courage to tell Mom she's already six months pregnant.Separately they may be a mess, but together Harper and Stacey can survive anything--their indomitable mother, overwhelming maternity stores and ex's weddings. Sisters Like Us is a delightful look at sisters, mothers and daughters in today's fast-paced world, told with Susan Mallery's trademark warmth and humor.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 135 x 201 x 28mm | 295g
  • English
  • Original ed.
  • 0778330907
  • 9780778330905
  • 762,777

Review quote

"Heartfelt, funny, and utterly charming all the way through!" -Susan Elizabeth Phillips"The multilevel plot is rich with assumptions, expectations, and classic family dynamics, plus exceptionally well-developed and appealing characters. VERDICT: Funny, tender, moving...[a] pure delight and a rewarding read for romance and women's fiction fans alike." -Library Journal, starred review"5 Stars! The characters will have you crying, laughing, and falling in love... Another brilliantly well-written story." -San Francisco Book Review"Once again, Susan Mallery has created an inviting world that envelops her readers' senses and sensibilities. Fans of Jodi Picoult, Debbie Macomber, and Elin Hilderbrand will assuredly fall for The Girls of Mischief Bay." -Bookreporter.com"[Mallery] will appeal to fans of women's fiction, especially such friendship books as Karen Joy Fowler's The Jane Austen Book Club." -Booklist"Fresh and engaging... There's a generational subtext that mirrors reality and the complexities of adult relationships...filled with promise of a new serial that's worth following." -Fort Worth Star-Telegram"Mallery enthralls [and] thoroughly involves readers in the lives of her characters as they face realistic, believable problems and search for their own happy endings." -Publishers Weekly"Both heart-wrenching and warmhearted... A discerning, affecting look at three women facing surprising change and the powerful and uplifting impact of friends." -Kirkus Reviews
show more

Rating details

5,392 ratings
4.04 out of 5 stars
5 35% (1,872)
4 41% (2,198)
3 20% (1,087)
2 4% (189)
1 1% (46)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X