Silver in the Blood
25%
off

Silver in the Blood

3.42 (3,463 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Two girls struggle with their dark family heritage in this fantasy perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Kendare Blake.

As debutantes in 1890s New York City, cousins Dacia and Lou knew little about their mysterious Romanian relatives, the Florescus. Now, upon turning seventeen, the girls must journey to Romania--a journey that seems to be both reward and punishment--to meet their cousins and their tyrant of a grandmother and to learn the secrets of their family. Secrets spoken of in whispers. Dangerous secrets known as the Claw, the Wing, and the Smoke.

But as dangerous as those family secrets might be, even more dangerous is the centuries-old bond between the Florescus and the royal Dracula family, and it seems that it's time for Dacia and Lou to give up their life in New York society and take their place among the servants of the Draculas. When the devilish heir, Mihai Dracula, sets his sights on Dacia as part of his evil, power-hungry plan, the girls must accept or fight against this cruel inheritance. Do they have the courage to break the shackles of their upbringing and set the course of their own destiny?
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 368 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 35.56mm | 447g
  • Bloomsbury Childrens Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1619634317
  • 9781619634312
  • 643,920

Review quote

"Proper debutantes and snarling wolves? A winning combination . . ." --School Library Journal

"George captures the exquisite beauty of 1890s Romania . . . while also creating an increasingly foreboding atmosphere." --Kirkus Reviews

"George's well-crafted tale will keep readers rapt . . ." --Publishers Weekly

"This is a powerful tale of transformation, both physical and emotional." - VOYA

"Frilly fashion, dashingly handsome young men, a gothic setting, and hidden powers. Fans of George will be pleased." --Booklist

"The Romanian setting, with its opulent estates amid the Carpathian wilderness, offers a perfect backdrop to this clash between high society's customs, family loyalty, and supernatural powers." - BCCB

"In a clever reworking of the Cinderella story, George once again proves adept at spinning her own magical tale." --Booklist on PRINCESS OF GLASS

." . . a well-realized and fast-paced fantasy-romance that will find favor among fans of fairy tales, feisty heroines, and dashing young men . . ." --Booklist on PRINCESS OF THE MIDNIGHT BALL

"A rich and engaging novel." --Kirkus Reviews on PRINCESS OF THE MIDNIGHT BALL
show more

About Jessica Day George

Jessica Day George is the author of the New York Times bestseller Wednesdays in the Tower and the rest of the Castle Glower series, as well as the Twelve Dancing Princesses series and Dragon Slippers series. Originally from Idaho, she studied at Brigham Young University and has been a movie store clerk, a bookseller, and a school office lady before becoming a writer. Jessica lives in Salt Lake City, Utah, with her husband, their three young children, and a five-pound Maltese named Pippin who often makes cameo appearances in her books.

www.jessicadaygeorge.com
@JessDayGeorge
show more

Rating details

3,463 ratings
3.42 out of 5 stars
5 14% (497)
4 34% (1,178)
3 35% (1,220)
2 13% (447)
1 3% (121)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X