Silent Heroes

Silent Heroes : When Love and Values Are Worth Fighting for

4.83 (35 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 15-18 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Chosen one of 5 Books Everyone Should Read in Their Lifetime

How far would you go to save strangers in need? A platoon of Marines and their military working dogs, MWD, are about to find out.
An educated woman makes the ultimate sacrifice to teach girls to read. She leaves behind a daughter and a son whose lives become intertwined with those of the U.S. Marines. But the Taliban is infiltrated everywhere and is hard to differentiate between friend and foe.

A revised, 2022 edition.

As vivid as a movie, you will share the life of the Marines deployed in an Afghan military base; climb the breathtaking Hindu-Kush Mountains to a secluded Taliban camp; dive in the belly of ancient Qala-e-Bost fortress in the middle of a battle, and experience the culture of the Afghan people.
Silent Heroes is a race against time, "an emotional rollercoaster of a read," a page-turner, a thrilling contemporary story with a vivid sense of the place, history and politics that shines a light on the humanity of the Marines and their special relationship with their canine buddies.
The utterly thrilling war fiction read inspired by true events from a Historical Fiction bestselling author - it will keep you gripped until the final page.
Chosen one of 5 Books Everyone Should Read in Their Lifetime
From the author of the Amazon Historical Fiction Bestseller Joyful Trouble comes Silent Heroes, When Love and Values Are Worth Fighting for - 'a book not to be missed. (Mandie Griffiths, Book Reviewer)For readers of Kite Runner, A Dog's Way Home and The Operator.
Readers are loving Silent Heroes:
'Although this is a work of fiction there are truths to it that will tug at your heart. For anyone who has not read one of Patricia's books then I would recommend this one.' (5 stars) Mandie Griffiths
'Have you ever read a fiction novel but felt as if you were reading a true account of events instead? This was my experience while reading Patricia Furstenberg's Silent Heroes. Regardless of your usual preferred genre, this is an excellent read ... will stay in your heart and mind long after finishing.' (5 stars) Dandelion Inspired
'If you're looking for a fast paced read I really can't recommend this book highly enough. It's a definite must read.' (5 stars) Mani's Book Corner
'I strongly recommend this book to EVERYONE!' (5 stars) Bunny's Pause 'A fantastic, action packed, captivating and emotional tale then will take you on a rollercoaster. Definitely recommended by me!' Curled Up With a Good Book
'The writing is wonderful... Great book to experience something different than a traditional suspense or mystery read.' (5 stars) Goodreads Reviewer
'I recommend this book to anyone ... who wants a novel with plenty of action and great characters.' (5 stars) Goodreads Reviewer
'Incredibly well researched, and provides many edge of the seat moments... Highly recommended.' (5 stars) Goodreads Reviewer
'It was also very interesting to read about the important role Military Working Dogs played in the US Marines' war against the Taliban insurgents.' (5 stars) Goodreads Reviewer
'A story that uplifts with its portrayal of people who continue to care for others despite the dangers they face every day. A great read. (5 stars) Goodreads Reviewer
'The entire story feels urgent, totally against the clock.... A well-researched, thought-provoking and ultimately insightful consideration of life in the military.' (Goodreads Reviewer)
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 366 pages
  • 133 x 203 x 21mm | 417g
  • English
  • 1079754911
  • 9781079754919

Rating details

35 ratings
4.83 out of 5 stars
5 83% (29)
4 17% (6)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X