The Silent Dead (Paula Maguire 3)

The Silent Dead (Paula Maguire 3) : An Irish crime thriller of danger, death and justice

4.23 (1,841 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 9-12 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

Some say they deserve their fate. But isn't everyone entitled to justice?

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire is in a race against time to solve a deadly crime in THE SILENT DEAD, the third novel in Claire McGowan's terrific, hard-hitting crime series. The perfect read for fans of Val McDermid and Elly Griffiths.

'Astonishing, powerful and immensely satisfying' - Peter James

Victim: Male. Mid-thirties. 5'7".
Cause of death: Hanging. Initial impression - murder.
ID: Mickey Doyle. Suspected terrorist and member of the Mayday Five.

The officers at the crime scene know exactly who the victim is. Doyle was one of five suspected bombers who caused the deaths of sixteen people.

The remaining four are also missing and when a second body is found, decapitated, it's clear they are being killed by the same methods their victims suffered.

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire is assigned the case but she is up against the clock - both personally and professionally.

With moral boundaries blurred between victim and perpetrator, will Paula be able to find those responsible? After all, even killers deserve justice...

What readers are saying about The Silent Dead:

'Great atmosphere - it's tense and chilling. I simply did not want to put this book down. Superb fast-paced plot and wonderful storytelling'

'A gripping story covering grief and frustration as it explores the moral dilemma of people failed by the system to may just be taking justice into their own hands. A great read'

'Absorbing story that constantly holds your attention. Steady, tense layering, building up to the nerve-wrecking end'
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 128 x 196 x 30mm | 320g
  • HEADLINE BOOK PUBLISHING
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1472204425
  • 9781472204424
  • 71,630

Review quote

Another clear-eyed analysis of violence and how it affects all who are touched by it . . . like the first two Maguire novels, terrific * Metro * I read The Silent Dead with my heart in my mouth . . . brilliant -- Erin Kelly In Dr Paula Maguire, [McGowan] has created a wonderfully complex character * Irish Independent * A breathlessly exciting and intelligent thriller with a brooding atmosphere * Sunday Mirror * I was gripped by The Silent Dead and was fully immersed in the world created by Claire McGowan's fine storytelling -- www.forwinternights.wordpress.com Deliciously satisfying -- www.louisereviews.com Hard-hitting crime writing at its best * Fabulous * Gripping . . . I very much look forward to McGowan's next one -- www.thewelshlibrarian.blogspot.com McGowan kept me guessing until the very end -- www.booksandboardies.com A gripping police procedural which takes us into the heart of a damaged, resilient nation -- www.promotingcrime.blogspot.co.uk Page-turning * Guardian * Ireland's answer to Ruth Rendell -- Ken Bruen A knockout new talent -- Lee Child Astonishing, powerful and immensely satisfying -- Peter James Compelling and flawless -- Sharon Bolton A knockout new talent -- Lee Child Ireland's answer to Ruth Rendell -- Ken Bruen Astonishing, powerful and immensely satisfying -- Peter James A compelling and flawless thriller -- SJ Bolton Page-turning * Guardian *
show more

About Claire McGowan

Claire McGowan grew up in a small village in Northern Ireland. After a degree in English and French from Oxford University, and time spent living in China and France, she moved to London and works in the charity sector and also teaches creative writing.
show more

Rating details

1,841 ratings
4.23 out of 5 stars
5 44% (811)
4 39% (719)
3 14% (257)
2 2% (39)
1 1% (15)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X