The Grisha: Siege and Storm

The Grisha: Siege and Storm : Book 2

4.05 (130,368 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$8.69

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

"The Hunger Games meets Potter meets Twilight meets Lord of the Rings meets Game of Thrones; basically epic magical fantasy but completely for grown-ups." STYLIST MAGAZINE The first book was Shadow and Bone. Now Alina's story continues. Darkness never dies. Alina and Mal are on the run. Hunted and haunted, but together at last, they can't outrun Alina's past or her destiny forever. The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and he needs Alina to realise his dangerous plan. There are others who would like to use Alina's gift too. And as her power grows, somehow, she must choose between her country, her power, and her love - or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm. Glorious. Epic. Irresistible. Romance. Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Laini Taylor.
show more

Product details

  • 12+
  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 136 x 215 x 31mm | 450g
  • Indigo (an Imprint of Orion Children's)
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1780621132
  • 9781780621135
  • 85,585

Table of contents

ENG
show more

Review quote

Leigh is a writer of the best kind because she loves her characters and the world they live in and makes a reader jealous that they can't visit it. There is magic in these pages. SISTER SPOOKY Siege and Storm carries on the fantastic plot which was so intricately carved in book one, and the writing continues to be clever, funny and heartbreaking all at the same time. This book will have you laughing one minute and an emotional wreck the next, as Alina's powers are pushed to the limit and her relationships are tested to breaking point. I for one cannot wait for the third and final book. BOOK CHICK CITY 20130603 Siege and Storm is a fantastic sequel to last year's debut SHADOW & BONE. In fact, it was even better. It had everything I loved about the first book-the world-building, the incredible characters, the immersive writing-and more. My heart! This book is truly epic, filled with oodles of imagination and entertainment. WINGED REVIEWS 20130607 I was away on the ships and wandering through Ravka with Alina and Mal, I was on the receiving end of his kisses and his annoyances. I felt the sun warm the pages whenever Alina summoned and I felt the fear when The Darkling was around. There is nothing I don't love about the world in which the Grisha trilogy is set and I cannot wait until next year to see how this series is going to conclude. READARAPTOR 20130701 I wrote a piece here gushing about why the Grisha series is so different and so special. There are many small reasons that all come together to create the awesomeness. But there are also many more that I can't even explain. Maybe it is different because it is just magic. It has the most exquisitely constructed world, the best-written characters, the most amazing writing and storyline. And it always always always leaves me desperate for more. It always leaves me aching, foaming at the mouth, for more: right now. And that, perhaps, is why it is so special. It is magic. It is beautiful. It is perfect. Well, except for that cliffhanger. How am I meant to make it a whole year with that hanging over my head?! THE BOOK ADDICTED GIRL 20130702 Leigh Bardugo, you sure know how to involve your readers and make them an emotional wreck. Siege and Storm is an enthralling sequel that seriously ups the game and expectations of the reader. It is written so beautifully that is flows flawlessly while keeping the magic alive in the readers mind. If you want to read a fantasy series that has a truly unique world then read this series. READ WRITE AND READ SOME MORE 20130704 ...a strong and satisfying sequel solidifying my belief that The Grisha Trilogy will go down as one of my favourite series of all time. JESS HEARTS BOOKS 20130622 Wow, wow, wow - that's all I can say. Siege and Storm only confirms that Leigh Bardugo is a must-read author for all teenage bookworms and fantasy fans! Set in a beautiful and magical fictional land, the novel draws you in with its vivid imagery and unique array of characters... If you haven't entered the world of Grisha yet, then why on earth not?! I mean, you know a novel is superb when words fail you and you just can't coherently speak anymore... right? FEED ME BOOKS NOW 20130626 In so many series the second book is a huge let-down. Siege and Storm? An exception. It is a squillion times better than Shadow and Bone... I adore the writing - it's so lyrical, so beautiful, yet so modern and witty and funny. I love this blend of classic fairytale and modern day. And it always seems to leave me wanting more! And the plot was amazing too. It was just nonstop action, nonstop thrills, nonstop suspense and nonstop excitement. I gobbled it up, falling harder in love each time. And then having my heart totally broken. Numerous times... I didn't see ninety-nine percent of the twists coming and could have just read this three-hundred-odd-paged-book in one sitting! You know, if I didn't need sleep and food and stuff... -- The Book Addicted Girl GUARDIAN TEEN BOOKS ... worth reading for the adept worldbuilding and the surprises in the plot. I would read it for the character of Sturmhond alone. As he so eloquently puts it, "I have so many good qualities. It can be hard to choose." FANTASY FACTION
show more

About Leigh Bardugo

Leigh Bardugo was born in Jerusalem, raised in Los Angeles and graduated from Yale University. She indulges her fondness for glamour, ghouls and costuming in her other life as a make-up artist in Hollywood, and can occasionally be heard singing with her band, Captain Automatic. Visit Leigh's website at leighbardugo.wordpress.com
show more

Rating details

130,368 ratings
4.05 out of 5 stars
5 36% (46,733)
4 40% (52,306)
3 19% (24,947)
2 4% (5,019)
1 1% (1,363)

Our customer reviews

Oh wow! What a follow up to Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm will take your breath away. Siege and Storm is the second of the The Grisha Trilogy and the book starts where the first ended. This is fantasy at its best invoking wonderful imagery that seems so clear while you are reading. Alina is our narrator and our guide throughout the book as she gently guides us. We find Alina and Mal have managed to escape Rivka and have travelled across the True Sea living in a foreign city. They are not truly free as they're constantly having to be aware of everything and everyone around them. They will remain in fear of the Darkling finding them. This is a fast paced story from the moment The Darkling and his shadow army discover them to being rescued at sea by Sturmhond. Taken back to Rivka and discovering that as the Sun Summoner she is considered by many as a saint. How she works with Prince Nikolai to rebuild the Second Army and trust in The Grisha, while at the same time the gulf between Mal and herself seems to get as wide as The Shadow Fold itself. All set for the final battle where many will die and that even though she uses her gifts it just is not enough. How she tries to kill The Darling but again he survives somehow. She now has a second amplifier and is looking for the third and final amplifier and has no idea where to look. How she is taking control of not just her life but of those around her, but still feels out of place and almost alone. This is a wonderful second instalment of The Grisha Trilogy as we see our heroine Aline grow in her role as the Sun Summoner. To use the old cliché this really is a page turner you feel part of The Second Army, you want to be part of good conquering evil. This is a wonderful story that takes you to various fantasies and you really feel part of it. Buy this book, enjoy this book and eventually the light will defeat the dark..... or will it?show more
by Paul D
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X