The Sidekick
7%
off

The Sidekick

3.67 (6 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-9 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

The perfect novel for fans of The Last Dance, Hoop Dreams and Winning Time

'Warm, humane, and tragic ... Somewhere in a golden triangle between Frederick Exley's A Fan's Notes, Richard Ford's The Sportswriter, and David Shields' Black Planet.' JONATHAN LETHEM

What seperates greatness from ordinary life?

At his high school basketball try-outs, nerdy sports-obsessed Brian Blum meets new kid Marcus Hayes. What neither of them knows when they line up at the end of practice to shoot free throws is that Marcus will soon be living with the Blums, following his parents' messy break-up, and that he will go on to become an NBA star, the next Michael Jordan.

As sportswriter Brian spends the following twenty years tracking his friends' career, he remains Marcus' only link to his pre-fame life. And, as Marcus mounts his comeback after a couple of years out of the game, both men must face the tensions and disappointments of getting older.

The Sidekick is the story of a friendship, of two lives bound together but fundamentally different, and of what it's like to live your life in the shadow of greatness.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 368 pages
  • 160 x 241 x 33mm | 590g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main
  • 0571371523
  • 9780571371525
  • 877,424

About Benjamin Markovits

Benjamin Markovits is the author of ten previous novels. He was named a Granta Best of Young British Novelist in 2013 and in 2015 won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for You Don't Have To Live Like This. He lives in London and teaches creative writing at Royal Holloway, University of London.
show more

Rating details

6 ratings
3.67 out of 5 stars
5 17% (1)
4 33% (2)
3 50% (3)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X