A Shropshire Lad

A Shropshire Lad

4.04 (1,938 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Read by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?


Naxos AudioBooks continues its popular 'The Great Poets' series with A Shropshire Lad by A.E. Housman. Published at the author's own expense in 1896, after rejection from publishers, the collection contains a cycle of 63 poems. Despite exploring themes of lost love, obsession, pessimism and death, the poems touched English readers and became a bestseller during the Second Boer War and World War I. The collection, set in a half-imagined pastoral Shropshire, includes the well-known poems When I Was One-and-Twenty, To an Athlete Dying Young and Loveliest of Trees, the Cherry Now.
show more

Product details

  • CD-Audio
  • 168.4 x 174.75 x 9.91mm | 90.72g
  • Welwyn, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Unabridged
  • Unabridged edition
  • 184379490X
  • 9781843794905
  • 403,019

Rating details

1,938 ratings
4.04 out of 5 stars
5 39% (747)
4 34% (663)
3 21% (416)
2 5% (88)
1 1% (24)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X