Short Girls

Short Girls

3.25 (848 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Sisters Van and Linny - like their father - are short. But they couldn't be more different. Van's the overachiever - a high-flying lawyer with a pristine home and husband, until the husband walks out. Linny is fashionable, flighty, works for a catering firm called You Did It Dinners and has just been told by her married lover that he's sticking with his wife.

So much to talk about. And yet they don't.

However, when their father invents a device to enable short people to reach high objects but needs to become an American citizen to sell it, the sisters are forced to work together to help him. If he's ever to succeed in an American Idol-style reality TV show for desperate inventors, Van and Linny must put aside their differences and admit what it is they have in common . . .
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 1 x 1 x 1mm | 145g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0141039175
  • 9780141039176
  • 360,114

Review quote

A funny, heart-warming take on family unity and cultural identity * Marie Claire * Loaded with tender charm and wry, lightly observed insights * Daily Mail * A smoothly pleasurable read * Guardian * Fans of Amy Tan and Monica Ali will love Short Girls, which has already been dubbed a Vietnamese The Joy Luck Club * Red * An intelligent, bittersweet debut novel * Sunday Times * Nguyen is an amusing observer of assimilation angst...this gentle-comedy of inter-generational strife is a polished and poised affair * Independent *
show more

About Bich Minh Nguyen

Bich Minh Nguyen is the author of the memoir Stealing Buddha's Dinner. She teaches at Purdue University and lives in Chicago and West Lafayette.
show more

Rating details

848 ratings
3.25 out of 5 stars
5 7% (57)
4 31% (260)
3 46% (393)
2 14% (117)
1 2% (21)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X