Shockingly Good Stories
48%
off

Shockingly Good Stories : Twenty short stories from the bestselling author of Friday Barnes

4.47 (32 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-9 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Piranhas on the run, stolen sandwiches, chocolate waterfalls and so much more!

From R.A. Spratt, bestselling author of Friday Barnes, comes this collection of twenty short stories perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, David Walliams and Paul Jennings.

Featuring fractured fairytales told by none other than Nanny Piggins, previously unpublished Friday Barnes mysteries and a bunch of other hilarious and highly original tall tales.

This book will delight kids from seven to seventy, whether they're after a bedtime story, entertainment for a long car ride or distraction in the doctor's waiting room!
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 153 x 234 x 19.05mm | 317.51g
  • Puffin
  • Australia
  • English
  • 1761043374
  • 9781761043376
  • 167,961

Table of contents

‘Rapunzel Bacon-Hair’ as told by Nanny Piggins 1
A Tall Tale about the Moon . . . and Cows 12
‘Little Red Riding Pig’ as told by Nanny Piggins 18
Friday Barnes and the Case of the Stolen Sandwich 28
‘Hansel and Gretel’ as told by Nanny Piggins 38
A Tall Tale about Ducks . . . and Piranha 53
‘The Emperor’s New Clothes’ as told by Nanny Piggins 63
Friday Barnes and the Case Where Binky Cheated 78
‘Snoring Beauty’ as told by Nanny Piggins 90
A Tall Tale about Granny . . . and a Pillow 103
‘The Pied Pig of Hamlin’ as told by Nanny Piggins  113
‘The Princess and the Frog with an Attitude Problem’  as told by Nanny Piggins 130
Friday Barnes and the Case of the One-Dollar Coin 141
‘The Normal-Sized Match Girl’ as told by Nanny Piggins 150
‘The Tortoise and the Hare – and the Pig’ as told by  Nanny Piggins 165
A Tall Tale about Bagpipes . . . and Tree Rain 176
‘The Gingerbread Man’ as told by Nanny Piggins 184
‘Jack and the Cocoa Bean Stalk’ as told by Nanny Piggins  196
Friday Barnes and the Case of the Smashed Statue 210
‘The Princess, the Pea and the Prince with a Brain the Size of a Pea’ as told by Nanny Piggins 219
show more

Review quote

"Mary Poppins, move over-or get shoved out of the way. Nanny Piggins has arrived... This is smart, sly, funny, and marvelously illustrated with drawings that capture Nanny's sheer pigginess." Booklist, starred review of The Adventures of Nanny Piggins "Reluctant and avid readers alike will get caught up in this book's humor, charm, and adventure." School Library Journal on The Adventures of Nanny Piggins

"Readers looking for nonstop giggles and cheerful political incorrectness will devour this as quickly as Nanny Piggins can consume a chocolate cake." Publishers Weekly on The Adventures of Nanny Piggins
show more

About R. A. Spratt

R.A. Spratt is the author of The Peski Kids, Friday Barnes and The Adventures of Nanny Piggins. In her previous life she was a television writer. Unlike the Peski kids, R.A. Spratt never fights with her brother, but only because he moved to Tokyo to get away from her. R.A. lives in Bowral, NSW, where she has three chickens, five goldfish and a dog. She also has a husband and two daughters.

For more information, visit raspratt.com
show more

Rating details

32 ratings
4.47 out of 5 stars
5 62% (20)
4 28% (9)
3 3% (1)
2 6% (2)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X