The Shock of the Fall

The Shock of the Fall

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


***This book has also been published as "Where the Moon Isn't."*** Winner of the 2013 "Costa First Novel Award " "A stunning novel. Ambitious and exquisitely realized . . . clearly the work of a major new talent." S. J. Watson, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Before I Go to Sleep" While on vacation with their parents, Matthew Homes and his older brother sneak out in the middle of the night. Only Matthew comes home safely. Ten years later, Matthew tells us, he has found a way to bring his brother back...What begins as the story of a lost boy turns into a story of a brave man yearning to understand what happened that night, in the years since, and to his very person. Unafraid to look at the shadows of our hearts, Nathan Filer's rare and brilliant debut "The Shock of the Fall "shows us the strength that is rooted in resilience and love."show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 209.55 x 220.98 x 17.78mm | 294.83g
  • St. Martin's Griffin
  • United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 1250028132
  • 9781250028136
  • 522,055

Review quote

"A meditation on mental illness, a family drama and mystery, a coming-of-age story - all wrapped up in a caring, imaginative story about a boy and his brother." -"Shelf Awareness," starred review"This is a tale told beautifully in the innocent voice of a perennial child and misfit . . . Filer deftly paints a series of vignettes of Matthew's chaotic search for solace that successively unveils the mysteries surrounding his brother." -"Washington Independent Review of Books"show more

About Nathan Filer

Nathan Filer is a writer and lecturer in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University. A registered mental health nurse, he has worked as a researcher in the academic unit of psychiatry at the University of Bristol and on in-patient wards. He is also a performance poet whose work has been broadcast on television and radio. "The Shock of the Fall" is Nathan's first novel and the recipient of the 2013 Costa Book Award and the 2014 Betty Trask more