The Shipbuilder's Daughter
48%
off

The Shipbuilder's Daughter : A beautifully written, satisfying and touching saga novel

5 (1 rating by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'An epic tale of one woman's determination to follow her dreams' People's FriendSet in 1920s Scotland, this beautifully written and satisfying saga follows the fate of a shipyard owner's daughter as she is faced with an impossible decision . . . Perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Rita Bradshaw and Nadine Dorries.5-star reader reviews for The Shipbuilder's Daughter'Beautifully written with a great deal of empathy, very satisfying plot. Lovely mix of old Glasgow and the western Isles''A definite must-buy''A lovely read''Fabulous reading'Glasgow, 1928. Margaret Bannatyne lost both of her brothers in the Great War and is now the last remaining child of wealthy and powerful shipyard owner William Bannatyne. Without a male heir to carry on the family business, William expects his daughter to do her duty, marry well and provide him with a grandson to inherit his business.Margaret cares deeply for her father but she has ambitions of her own: after witnessing a horrific accident when she was sixteen, she's determined to become a doctor. Her father, convinced she will never practise medicine, permits Margaret to complete her training. But he doesn't count on her falling in love with Alasdair Morrison.Alasdair, a union man at the shipyard, has been a thorn in William's side for years, and he didn't become one of the richest men in Glasgow only for Alasdair to take it all away - even if it means destroying his only daughter's happiness by forcing her to make a heartbreaking and impossible choice . . .show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 128 x 195 x 28mm | 295g
  • Little, Brown Book Group
  • Sphere
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 075156608X
  • 9780751566086
  • 706,853

Review quote

A touching, thought-provoking saga * Lancaster Guardian on WE SHALL REMEMBER * This is first rate * Lovereading on WE SHALL REMEMBER * Fans of Lily Baxter and other saga authors will enjoy * The Bookseller on WE SHALL REMEMBER * A powerful and at times gritty tale of love and loss . . . a great, insightful read * Novelicious on WE SHALL REMEMBER * An epic tale of one woman's determination to follow her dreams * People's Friend *show more

About Emma Fraser

Emma Fraser is an ex-nurse and she completed her training in Edinburgh. After writing several medical romances under the name Anne Fraser, her research into medical training in the early twentieth-century inspired her to write about strong Scottish nurses and female doctors and her first novel as Emma Fraser, When the Dawn Breaks, was the result. When the Dawn Breaks was shortlisted for the Epic Romantic Novel RoNA Award in 2014. Emma lives with her husband and two children in Glasgow.show more

Rating details

1 ratings
5 out of 5 stars
5 100% (1)
4 0% (0)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X