Shift
39%
off

Shift

3.71 (3,870 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Mean Girls meets Gone Girl - a gripping, dark, psychological thriller for YA readers, perfect for fans of We Were Liars.There were two things everyone knew about Miranda Vaile. The first was that she had no parents - they were dead. And the second was that they were dead because Miranda had killed them.Olive hasn't always been a loner - she used to be the school queen-bee. But that was before her breakdown. Now she can only watch as new girl Miranda latches on to her ex-best friend Katie, talking like Katie, dressing like Katie and even going out with Katie's boyfriend.And then Katie dies. Everyone thinks it was a tragic accident. But Olive isn't so sure. What if Miranda really is a killer . . ?Em Bailey is an Australian writer living in Germany with her partner and daughter. Em used to be a new-media designer for a children's television production house and is now a full-time author. She is the author of the teen thrillers Shift and The Special Ones.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 130 x 198 x 24mm | 222.26g
  • Egmont UK Ltd
  • Electric Monkey
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • UK ed.
  • 1405261161
  • 9781405261166
  • 58,971

About Em Bailey

Em Bailey is an Australian writer living in Germany with her partner and daughter. Em used to be a new-media designer for a children's television production house and is now a full-time author. Shift was her first novel for young adults, a psychological thriller that published internationally to great acclaim and won the teens' choice Gold Inky Award in Australia and was shortlisted for a number of other awards. Her second, and much-anticipated novel for young adults, The Special Ones, publishes in August 2016. When she's not writing, Em is generally getting lost, losing stuff, reading, hanging out with her friends and family, and listening to Radiolab podcasts. She always locks her doors at night.show more

Rating details

3,870 ratings
3.71 out of 5 stars
5 26% (1,002)
4 34% (1,312)
3 28% (1,100)
2 9% (348)
1 3% (108)

Our customer reviews

Shift by Em Bailey relates the story of Olive, a teen returning to school after spending some time in a mental health clinic, and her self-imposed exile from her old, popular friends. She now spends school days with new friend Ami, avoiding the malicious intentions of her ex-best friend, and the friendly advances of the new boy. Enter Miranda, another new student, who Olive and Ami believe is a shapeshifter, slowly stealing the personality and position of her victim until she is the most popular girl in school. This is Bailey's first novel for the teen market and she may have been somewhat overambitious in what she was trying to achieve here. This story did not have the genuine feel needed to provide an anchor for the reader when casting off their disbelief. The characters seemed two-dimensional and some elements of the plot - including the death of one of the featured characters - seemed glossed over, without the emotional impact that one would expect for such events. Despite this, Shift provides plenty of elements that would be attractive to the early teen reader - friendship dramas, the difficulties of establishing one's identity in front of peers, tentative young love. The fantasy elements, while mostly overshadowed by normal human dramas, give this novel its point of difference. For that reason alone, I recommend it as a breath of fresh air for those tired of the standard boy meets "girl/boy turns out to be undead/girl meets similarly undead, but hotter boy etc" fare.show more
by thebookshelfgargoyle.wordpress.com
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X