Shattered Pillars
42%
off

Shattered Pillars

3.85 (1,197 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Shattered Pillars is the second book of Bear's Eternal Sky trilogy and the sequel to Range of Ghosts. Set in a world drawn from our own great Asian Steppes, this saga of magic, politics, and war sets Re-Temur, the exiled heir to the great Khagan, and his friend Sarmarkar, a Wizard of Tsarepheth, against dark forces determined to conquer all the great empires along the Celedon Road.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 210.82 x 233.68 x 27.94mm | 249.47g
  • Starscape
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • black & white illustrations
  • 0765379643
  • 9780765379641
  • 524,102

Review quote

Book Riot's List of 50 Best Epic Fantasy Series, Eternal Sky trilogy"Fans of George R.R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series should welcome this gracefully told tale of war, political intrigue, and personal drama. Highly recommended." --Library Journal on Range of Ghosts"The world of The Eternal Sky is a gorgeously fleshed-out one, and the characters without exception fascinating, sometimes maddening, and complex. This is a pleasing conclusion to an epic; it ties up the major threads but leaves many open questions about how the world will move forward." --Booklist on Steles of the Sky"This lean, sinewy, visceral narrative, set forth in extraordinarily vivid prose full of telling detail, conveys a remarkable sense of time and place, where the characters belong to the landscape and whose personalities derive naturally from it.... Bear provides this opener with enough of a resolution to satisfy while whetting the appetite for more. Gripping, perfectly balanced and highly recommended." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on Range of Ghosts"Bear's trilogy makes a rich contribution to epic fantasy's expanding borders of emotion and invention." --Publishers Weekly, starred review, on Steles of the Sky "Fans of George R.R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series should welcome this gracefully told tale of war, political intrigue, and personal drama. Highly recommended." --Library Journal on Range of Ghosts"The world of The Eternal Sky is a gorgeously fleshed-out one, and the characters without exception fascinating, sometimes maddening, and complex. This is a pleasing conclusion to an epic; it ties up the major threads but leaves many open questions about how the world will move forward." --Booklist on Steles of the Sky"This lean, sinewy, visceral narrative, set forth in extraordinarily vivid prose full of telling detail, conveys a remarkable sense of time and place, where the characters belong to the landscape and whose personalities derive naturally from it.... Bear provides this opener with enough of a resolution to satisfy while whetting the appetite for more. Gripping, perfectly balanced and highly recommended." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on Range of Ghosts"Bear's trilogy makes a rich contribution to epic fantasy's expanding borders of emotion and invention." --Publishers Weekly, starred review, on Steles of the Sky Fans of George R.R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series should welcome this gracefully told tale of war, political intrigue, and personal drama. Highly recommended. Library Journal on Range of Ghosts The world of The Eternal Sky is a gorgeously fleshed-out one, and the characters without exception fascinating, sometimes maddening, and complex. This is a pleasing conclusion to an epic; it ties up the major threads but leaves many open questions about how the world will move forward. Booklist on Steles of the Sky This lean, sinewy, visceral narrative, set forth in extraordinarily vivid prose full of telling detail, conveys a remarkable sense of time and place, where the characters belong to the landscape and whose personalities derive naturally from it.... Bear provides this opener with enough of a resolution to satisfy while whetting the appetite for more. Gripping, perfectly balanced and highly recommended. Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on Range of Ghosts Bear's trilogy makes a rich contribution to epic fantasy's expanding borders of emotion and invention. Publishers Weekly, starred review, on Steles of the Sky" Fans of George R.R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series should welcome this gracefully told tale of war, political intrigue, and personal drama. Highly recommended. "Library Journal on Range of Ghosts" The world of The Eternal Sky is a gorgeously fleshed-out one, and the characters without exception fascinating, sometimes maddening, and complex. This is a pleasing conclusion to an epic; it ties up the major threads but leaves many open questions about how the world will move forward. "Booklist on Steles of the Sky" This lean, sinewy, visceral narrative, set forth in extraordinarily vivid prose full of telling detail, conveys a remarkable sense of time and place, where the characters belong to the landscape and whose personalities derive naturally from it.... Bear provides this opener with enough of a resolution to satisfy while whetting the appetite for more. Gripping, perfectly balanced and highly recommended. "Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on Range of Ghosts" Bear's trilogy makes a rich contribution to epic fantasy's expanding borders of emotion and invention. "Publishers Weekly, starred review, on Steles of the Sky"" "Fans of George R.R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series should welcome this gracefully told tale of war, political intrigue, and personal drama. Highly recommended."--"Library Journal" on "Range of Ghosts" "The world of The Eternal Sky is a gorgeously fleshed-out one, and the characters without exception fascinating, sometimes maddening, and complex. This is a pleasing conclusion to an epic; it ties up the major threads but leaves many open questions about how the world will move forward."--"Booklist "on "Steles of the Sky" "This lean, sinewy, visceral narrative, set forth in extraordinarily vivid prose full of telling detail, conveys a remarkable sense of time and place, where the characters belong to the landscape and whose personalities derive naturally from it.... Bear provides this opener with enough of a resolution to satisfy while whetting the appetite for more. Gripping, perfectly balanced and highly recommended."--"Kirkus Reviews," starred review, on "Range of Ghosts""Bear's trilogy makes a rich contribution to epic fantasy's expanding borders of emotion and invention."--"Publishers Weekly," starred review, on "Steles of the Sky" "This lean, sinewy, visceral narrative, set forth in extraordinarily vivid prose full of telling detail, conveys a remarkable sense of time and place, where the characters belong to the landscape and whose personalities derive naturally from it. Though the book is not self-contained, Bear provides this opener with enough of a resolution to satisfy while whetting the appetite for more. Gripping, perfectly balanced and highly recommended."--"Kirkus Reviews", starred review on "Range of Ghosts"
show more

About Elizabeth Bear

ELIZABETH BEAR was the recipient of the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer in 2005. She has won two Hugo Awards for her short fiction, a Sturgeon Award, and the Locus Award for Best First Novel. She is the author of the acclaimed Eternal Sky series. Bear lives in Brookfield, Massachusetts.
show more

Rating details

1,197 ratings
3.85 out of 5 stars
5 22% (265)
4 47% (566)
3 26% (310)
2 4% (42)
1 1% (14)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X