Shatter the Sky

Shatter the Sky

3.71 (878 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 7-12 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

New England Book Award Finalist

"A top-notch dragon story...Both nuanced and real." --Shelf Awareness (starred review)
"I absolutely devoured it." --Mackenzi Lee, bestselling author of The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
"Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Renée Ahdieh, and Cindy Pon." --Saundra Mitchell, author of All the Things We Do in the Dark and editor of YA anthology All Out

A determined young woman sets out to rescue her kidnapped girlfriend by stealing a dragon from the corrupt emperor in this stunning fantasy debut that's perfect for fans of Margaret Rogerson, Rae Carson, and Rachel Hartman.

Raised among the ruins of a conquered mountain nation, Maren dreams only of sharing a quiet life with her girlfriend Kaia--until the day Kaia is abducted by the Aurati, prophetic agents of the emperor, and forced to join their ranks. Desperate to save her, Maren hatches a plan to steal one of the emperor's coveted dragons and storm the Aurati stronghold.

If Maren is to have any hope of succeeding, she must become an apprentice to the Aromatory--the emperor's mysterious dragon trainer. But Maren is unprepared for the dangerous secrets she uncovers: rumors of a lost prince, a brewing rebellion, and a prophecy that threatens to shatter the empire itself. Not to mention the strange dreams she's been having about a beast deep underground...

With time running out, can Maren survive long enough to rescue Kaia from impending death? Or could it be that Maren is destined for something greater than she could have ever imagined?
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 20mm | 249g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • f-c cvr (spfx: soft touch, spot gloss, emboss)
  • 1534437916
  • 9781534437913
  • 876,963

Review quote

"Rebecca Kim Wells has written a captivating debut with a bold heroine to root for and a richly imagined world to get lost in. I was enchanted from the very first page."--Audrey Coulthurst, author of OF FIRE AND STARS
show more

About Rebecca Kim Wells

Rebecca Kim Wells grew up in California before moving east in search of crisp autumns and snowy winters. She is the author of the Shatter the Sky duology and Briar Girls. Her debut novel, Shatter the Sky, was a New England Book Award Finalist, a Bisexual Book Award winner, a Rainbow List selection, an Indies Introduce selection, and a Kids' Indie Next Pick. When not writing, she works at a fiercely independent bookstore in Massachusetts and spends too much time singing along to musicals. Learn more at RebeccaWellsWrites.com.
show more

Rating details

878 ratings
3.71 out of 5 stars
5 23% (203)
4 36% (319)
3 31% (273)
2 7% (65)
1 2% (18)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X