Shallow Graves
25%
off

Shallow Graves

3.6 (2,609 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters-human and otherwise-lurk at the fringes.

When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn't remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she's somehow conscious-and not only that, she's able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs-where killers hide in plain sight, and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.

Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 368 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 30mm | 435g
  • KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062366203
  • 9780062366207
  • 464,578

Back cover copy

Breezy remembers leaving the party: the warm, wet grass under her feet, her cheek still stinging from a slap to her face. But when she wakes up, scared and pulling dirt from her mouth, a year has passed and she can't explain how.

Nor can she explain the man lying at her grave, dead from her touch, or why her heartbeat comes and goes. She doesn't remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she's somehow conscious--and not only that, she's able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past.

Haunted by happy memories from her life, Breezy sets out to find answers in the gritty, threatening world to which she now belongs--where killers hide in plain sight, and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she discovers is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.

Debut author Kali Wallace interweaves folklore and myths from all over the world in this stunning novel about the heartbreaking trauma of a girl's life cut short and her struggle to reconcile her humanity with the monster she's become.
show more

Review quote

"A fast-paced story with an interesting hook, and a thoughtful look at what it means to be human versus what it means to be a monster. The end result is a superbly crafted debut bound to entrance." -- Booklist (starred review) "Kali Wallace has created a world that's both natural and unsettling ...and reminds us with Breezy's story that true terror is not a monster, but what lurks in the dark corners of human nature." -- Madeleine Roux, New York Times bestselling author of the Asylum series. "Shallow Graves is a stunner. Gripping, gory, and insightful." -- Kendare Blake, author of Anna Dressed in Blood and Antigoddess "Constantly entertaining, intriguing, and suspenseful." -- Kirkus "A fast-paced ride through a dark, imaginative world." -- Mindy McGinnis, author of Not a Drop to Drink and A Madness So Discreet "A phenomenally written, spine-chilling story...sure to keep you up all night." -- Kimberly Derting, author of the Body Finder series "Writing in Breezy's pragmatic and engaging voice, Wallace weaves an unsettling tale that explores Breezy's strange existence, while also thoughtfully examining a life cut short...her struggle to reconcile what she has become with the human she used to be forms the heart of this bittersweet story." -- Publishers Weekly
show more

About Kali Wallace

Kali Wallace is the author of two novels for teens and many short stories. She studied geology for years but now devotes her time to writing. She lives in Southern California. You can find her at www.kaliwallace.com.
show more

Rating details

2,609 ratings
3.6 out of 5 stars
5 20% (532)
4 36% (949)
3 29% (768)
2 11% (296)
1 2% (64)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X