Shadows of Self
33%
off

Shadows of Self : A Mistborn Novel

4.3 (47,834 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Fans of Robert Jordan and George RR Martin alike have found a new champion of epic fantasy in Brandon Sanderson. And now, in the first of two sequels to The Alloy Of Law the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author returns to the world of Mistborn anda hunt for a mysterious assassin.

The criminal elite of Elendel were invited to an auction - which became a massacre, when an unknown assailant slaughtered everyone in attendance. Now Wax and Wayne, both able to use magic, both lawmen from the rough and ungoverned frontier territories, are on the case. All the clues suggest the killer is a rogue kandra - a secretive, almost mythical, figure who acts from the shadows - called Bleeder . . . and that the governor is her next target. Bleeder, and the conspiracy behind the killings, has to be stopped . . . before the city is plunged into chaos.

A brilliant adventure and a gripping story, Shadows of Self offers fans of The Alloy of Law everything they've been hoping for and, this being a Brandon Sanderson book, more, much more.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 153 x 198 x 26mm | 270g
  • Gollancz
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1473208238
  • 9781473208230
  • 3,770

Review Text

this book will reward your attention - with fire, blood, excitement, and adventure. Pick it up, and start reading! SF&F Reviews
show more

Review quote

Whether you're a fan of the original Mistborn trilogy or simply Sanderson's world-building and writing style, this book is definitely worth your time. * Geek Dad * Shadows of Self is another success for Brandon Sanderson, who continues to not only remain a reliable writer of the fantastic, but continuously surprises his readers with new styles, new voices, and new mysteries, building sturdily upon the foundations he laid in The Alloy of Law and the Mistborn series... Shadows of Self is a thoroughly satisfying read for Sanderson fans old and new. * Tor.com * . By itself Shadows of Self offers a great point to pick up the series, but in all I think a lot of the references to other books will be missed so pick up at least Alloy of Law before reading this one...Awesome stuff. Never a boring moment. * The Book Plank * An exciting new start to the second Mistborn era, Shadows of Self is a fantasy delight full of delicious adventure, friends of old, and a mystery to lose yourself in. * Heather's Reviews * a wonderful new addition to the series which I deeply love and it completely fulfilled my rather high expectations. It is a literary equivalent of a big-budget action flick that's impossible not to finish in a single sitting. Riveting stuff. * Upcoming4Me * this book will reward your attention - with fire, blood, excitement, and adventure. Pick it up, and start reading! * SF&F Reviews *
show more

About Brandon Sanderson

Brandon Sanderson was born in Nebraska in 1975. Since then he has written, amongst others The Mistborn books and begun the internationally bestselling Stormlight Archive. He was also chosen by Robert Jordan's family to complete Jordan's Wheel of Time Sequence. He lives in Utah.

Visit his website at http://www.brandonsanderson.com, follow him on Twitter @BrandSanderson and like him on Facebook. Or read his blogs at http://mistborn.blogspot.co.uk and http://mistborn.livejournal.com.
show more

Rating details

47,834 ratings
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 44% (21,243)
4 43% (20,422)
3 12% (5,544)
2 1% (535)
1 0% (90)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X