Shadows of Blue and Gray

Shadows of Blue and Gray : The Civil War Writings of Ambrose Bierce

3.93 (43 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$24.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Ambrose Bierce didn't just write about the Civil War - he lived through it, on the battlefields and along the picket lines. In so doing he gave birth to a chronicles of men at war previously unseen in the American literary canon. That some of these stories verge on the supernatural, others on factual chronicles, and others balance on the thin line between humour and morbidity in no way detracts from their resonance both to the history of the War Between the States and the imaginative literature in the tradition of Washington Irving. Shadows Of Blue & Gray collects all of Bierce's Civil War stories - 27 in total - along with six of his memoirs on his own war experiences. Contents include such classics as "An Occurrence At Owl Creek Bridge", "A Horseman in the Sky", "Parker Addison, Philosopher", and "A Bivouac of the Dead" as well as lesser known stories and sketches such as "The Mockingbird" and "Two Military Executions" and memoirs of his experiences at Shiloh, Chickamauga, and Franklin.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 137.16 x 210.82 x 27.94mm | 430.91g
  • St Martin's Press
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0765302446
  • 9780765302441

Review quote

"Twenty-seven stories, along with some memoirs and reportage ... famous for their unflinching look at the brutality of war" - "Publishers Weekly " "The most important American writer who served as a combat soldier in the Civil War" - "Booklist"
show more

About Ambrose Bierce

Ambrose Bierce was one of the leading men of letters in 19th-century America. Among his most important books were "The Devil's Dictionary" and "Tales of Soldiers and Civilians."
show more

Rating details

43 ratings
3.93 out of 5 stars
5 23% (10)
4 56% (24)
3 14% (6)
2 5% (2)
1 2% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X