Shadowfell

Shadowfell : Book 1

3.91 (10,949 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Paperback
By (author) 

List price: US$12.12

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

The first book in the Shadowfell trilogy from the acclaimed author of the Sevenwaters series

"An exquisitely written tale of love, fear, faith and difficult choices ... Marillier is a consummate craftswoman." Sydney Morning Herald

The people of Alban are afraid.

The tyrannical king and his masked Enforcers are scouring the land, burning villages and enslaving the canny.
Fifteen-year-old Neryn has fled her home in the wake of its destruction, and is alone and penniless, hiding her extraordinary magical power. She can rely on no one - not even the elusive Good Folk who challenge and bewilder her with their words.

When an enigmatic stranger saves her life, Neryn and the young man called Flint begin an uneasy journey together. She wants to trust Flint but how can she tell who is true in this land of evil?

For Neryn has heard whisper of a mysterious place far away: a place where rebels are amassing to free the land and end the King's reign.

A place called Shadowfell.

A story of courage, hope, danger and love from one of the most compelling fantasy storytellers writing today.

"A new book by Juliet Marillier is always a cause for celebration" Kate Forsyth

Winner of the Tin Duck Award for Speculative Fiction

Finalist in the Sir Julius Vogel Awards

Fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley, Isobelle Carmody and Robin Hobb will love Juliet Marillier.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 360 pages
  • 132 x 198 x 20mm | 260g
  • Pan Australia
  • Sydney, Australia
  • 1742611346
  • 9781742611341

About Juliet Marillier

Juliet Marillier was born in Dunedin, New Zealand, a town with strong Scottish roots. She graduated from Otago University with degrees in arts and music, and has had a varied career which included teaching and performing music as well as working in government agencies. Juliet now lives in a hundred-year-old cottage near the river in Perth, Western Australia, where she writes full-time. She is a member of the druid order OBOD. Juliet shares her home with three dogs and a cat.
show more

Rating details

10,949 ratings
3.91 out of 5 stars
5 31% (3,369)
4 39% (4,253)
3 23% (2,569)
2 5% (546)
1 2% (212)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X