3.32 (84 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$8.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Shadow is the second evocative fantasy in Will Elliott's Pendulum Trilogy: "Elliott writes with a power commensurate with the originality of his vision."--Times Literary Supplement

Eric Albright was a luckless journalist living a so-so life...until the day he opened a battered red door under a railway bridge and entered Levaal, a magical world between worlds. A place populated by power-damaged mages, stone giants, pit devils--and dragons.

The tyrant Lord Vous rules with an iron fist and is nearing his goal of turning himself into a god. He's kept at bay only by the great Wall at World's End, which contains all of Levaal.

But the Wall comes crashing down, sparking a violent war, and Eric and his friends are caught in the thick of it. They are forced to flee from the Tormentors, dreadful creatures that have poured through the breach, and there are rumors that one of the great dragons has escaped its sky prison.

Worse yet, Vous's journey to godhood is almost complete, and a mysterious being called Shadow--who is not but looks remarkably like Eric--is wandering Levaal with great power but no purpose it yet understands.
The end might be coming faster than anyone thinks.

The Pendulum Trilogy
#1 The Pilgrims
#2 Shadow
#3 World's End
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 105 x 171 x 25mm | 454g
  • New York
  • English
  • 0765368587
  • 9780765368584

Looking for beautiful books?

Visit our Beautiful Books page and find lovely books for kids, photography lovers and more. Shop now .

Review quote

Praise for the Pendulum Trilogy

"The first stage in a gloriously wayward journey through the shattered relics of standard epic fantasy that left me eager to continue."--Locus on The Pilgrims

"A gripping series of events moves briskly...leaving us all wanting to know what happens to the world as much as to our protagonists."--RT Book Reviews

"The author's not only a superb craftsman and character-builder, but a consummate storyteller, so that each good-against-evil clash appears fresh and engrossing."--Kirkus Reviews
show more

About Will Elliott

WILL ELLIOTT's debut novel, The Pilo Family Circus, co-won the Aurealis Award for best horror, won the Golden Aurealis for best novel, and the Australian Shadows Award. He is also the author of the visionary Pendulum Trilogy, The Pilgrims, Shadow and World's End. Elliott was born in Brisbane, Australia.
show more

Rating details

84 ratings
3.32 out of 5 stars
5 15% (13)
4 27% (23)
3 38% (32)
2 12% (10)
1 7% (6)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X