In the Shadow of a Queen

In the Shadow of a Queen

4.19 (350 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Read by 
4.19 (350 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 6-9 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

Based on the true story of the free-spirited daughter of Queen Victoria.

As a young woman, Princess Louise is considered the most beautiful and talented daughter of Queen Victoria and Prince Albert. She is also strong-willed and resists following the queen's rigid rules and strict protocols for a princess.

After her father's untimely death, Louise's life is upended by the inconsolable grief of her mother and the rippling effect that rocks the British Empire. Captive to the queen's overwhelming mourning, Louise is forbidden to leave her mother's tight circle of control, attend balls, or have any kind of relationship outside the royal family. She is relegated to the position of personal secretary to her mother--the same position each of her sisters held until they were married.

Already an accomplished painter, Louise risks the queen's wrath by exploring the art of sculpting, an activity viewed as unbefitting a woman. When Louise involves herself in the day's political matters without Queen Victoria's approval, including championing the career of a female doctor and communicating with suffragettes, the queen lays down the law to stop her and devotes her full energy and resources to finding an acceptable match for her defiant daughter.

In the Shadow of a Queen is the story of an epic battle of wills between two women: a daughter determined to forge her own life beyond the shadow of her mother, and a queen resolved to keep the Crown's reputation unsullied no matter the cost.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 159 x 234 x 33mm | 590g
  • English
  • 1639930507
  • 9781639930500

Review quote

"Moore's tracking of Louise's commitment to women's suffrage and public education and of how Louise manages to follow her own interests and desires without alienating her famously moody mother is striking. Fans of Marie Benedict and Jennifer Chiaverini will enjoy this portrayal of a strong woman who successfully forges her own path."-- "Booklist"
show more

About Heather B Moore

Heather B. Moore is a USA Today best-selling and award-winning author of more than seventy publications, including The Paper Daughters of Chinatown. She has lived on both the East and West Coasts of the United States, as well as Hawaii, and attended school abroad at the Cairo American Collage in Egypt and the Anglican School of Jerusalem in Israel. She loves to learn about history and is passionate about historical research.
show more

Rating details

350 ratings
4.19 out of 5 stars
5 39% (135)
4 45% (156)
3 15% (51)
2 2% (7)
1 0% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X